Enjoy the beach and help/coach me on my writing or wall renovations in the south of France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 162 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we are Amy and Valerie, in our 50’s. We live in a small town by the sea, next to Toulon, in the south of France (Région Paca. Département 83), in a small apartment.

    Valérie is a rather quiet woman, who loves video games and works as computer tech.
    Amy is the talkative type (too much sometimes) Who enjoys boardgames and works as an educator for adults with handicap. She is actually trying to finish her doctorate thesis in social studies on gender and male dominance in education (and is in great need of help if you are able to).

    We always enjoy meeting new people from all around the world. Yet, as we don’t feel comfortable sharing our life (and Only bathroom) with a man, we only accept female workaways.
    Our home is a very safe place for a woman travelling alone, especially if she is not used to workaway, so « First experience » workawayers welcome.

    Amy speaks english. Valérie understands it very well but does not speak english (she could though). Amy can teach you French if you want to.


    What is there to see/do around our place ? How can you help us ?

    We live next to the Mediterranean sea. 5 min walk from the first crique/beach. Around, there are many places to enjoy, by Walk, bike, bus, even « boat-bus ».
    Toulon is the closest middle size city and easy to get to by bus or boat-bus.

    If you read the feedbacks left by other workawayers : We moved since the first workawayers. And for the others, they were at our secondary house, in the countryside. The apartment we are living in right now is in yet another town.

    Be aware that our apartment is being renovated. We will gladly accept any help with the walls coating (enduits) and sanding. The bathroom should be done in june but is yet very old and rather miserable. The rest of the apartment is confortable enough.

    for those who don’t like manual activities but are Rather Scholars or/and very good coach : Amy has difficulties getting to work on her doctorate thesis Lately and would need someone to help her.

    We offer bed in a very small room (5 square meters with window) as our The flat is only less than 50 m2. Of course, with the sunny days outside and the nice places to visit, chances are you will spend most of your time out of the apartment.

    No smoking is possible in the apartment, as we are allergic to smoke. Thanks
    We have a cat (with long hair).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Teaching
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will gladly help you learn french if you are willing to.

  • Help

    Help

    - be a Coach to Amy (Make her work ! Or help her write, do some research... )
    - help with wall renovation if you want.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a small spare room (5 square meters with a window) with a single bed.
    Various diets are not a problem, if you help with the cooking... There is Internet (wifi and fiber). And the beach is Very very close by, as well as woods and mountains. Vineyards can be found all around at various distances.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have bikes that you are welcome to borrow.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day max. 5 days a week.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 522461684896