Dogsitting in the forest and explore Oslo, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 690 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    31  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    82.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I need help in exersizing my dog a 3,5 year old french bulldog, and look after him when I am working.

    I have had some changes in my life in 1921:
    In february, my precious boxer, Blondie had to cross the rainbow bridge, so as for now its just me and my 3,5 year old french bulldog Piraten.
    I live in the forest in Oslo, I am renting a small bacement apartment in the house you can see on one of my pictures. Tha apartment is only 40 square meter, but has two separate bedrooms- so you will have your own room.
    Its located at SKAR in Maridalen valley- its appr. 17 km from city center- there is public transport ( bus stop 1 minute from the house), but it operates only once an hour ( twice during rush hour morning and after noon ) but not late evenings ( last bus from city center is at 9.30 pm).
    Its very peaceful sorroundings with hiking possibilities just outside the door.

    I mainly offer short term stays ( app. 2 weeks)


    During your stay I will like you to be " in charge" of the dog exersizes 5 days a week, but as I work swing-shifts and almost every weekends, You might need to take care of him in the weekends, but then you will get 2 days off mid week. We kan settle this when we agree on the period you will stay here. I also expect you to share the cleaning duties with me, such as doing the dishes (no dish washer), wacuuming and so on. I also ocasionally need some help with carrying hevy loads like when I buy dog food or a lot of groceries.

    I am a social worker- working as a night staff in a facility for drug- and alcohol addicts, and a part time job as a child welfare emergency councellor at a police station- this means that you will be left by yourself with my doggies when I am working nights- so you better like your own company.

    I am nice when I am nice but I have a "dark" side that is not so nice- hopefully you will not discover it :-)



    NOTICE THAT I CAN ONLY HOST 1 PERSOn AND I ONLY HOST THOSW WHO ARE FULLY COVID-19 VACCINATED.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a social worker since more than 30 years. I like the philosophical angle to life wisdom, and can give you plenty :-). I have travelled and lived many places in Norway also in the far north, and can give you helpful information if you want to discover more of Norway than Oslo

    AS a native Osloboer, I can give you useful information about this and that.

  • Help

    Help

    Dog walking and exersizing my doggies for appr. 3 hours a day. Sometimes feed them if I work double shifts. Also some help in the house with wacuuming, and do the dishes ( no dishwasher), sometimes helping wit carrying heavy loads ( dog food ).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own small bedroom and share the tiny livingroom/kitchen and bathroom with me. I have a washing machine in the bathroom, but no drier and since it is basement apartment the laundry takes some time to dry.

    I do have Wifi, and TV with just 3 norwegian channels and Netflix.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My location is perfect if you like peaceful surroundings and lot of hiking possibilities in the recreational forest known as NORDMARKA.

    There you find pure nature,, silence, lakes ans streams,wildlife, in winter you are likely to see elks and or deers.

    Even located in the forest its possible to go downtown Oslo with public transport- but not late nights. The travel to city center takes appr. 47 minutes


    However, I think I have some life wisdom to share, and do not consider myself to old to learn new skills.

    I am a mix between very private and very socialable- I do need me privat " sphere" but can also be quite inclusive. When I make dinner I will probaly invite you to eat with me- and if you want to make dinner and invite me that is also nice.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    appr. 3, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.2)






















Host ref number: 834182155862