Help out in our family in Chisasibi a Cree community in Northern Quebec, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/09/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I work as a midwife in Chisasibi (Eeyou Itschee / Baie James, QC, Canada) a Cree community in Northern Quebec. My name is Maude, I come from Magdalen Islands and I am a single mom of two (Raphael, 8 y.o. and Marianne 6 y.o.). Since few years the Elders in the community has been asking to bring back births on the Land (women had to flight to Abitibi to give birth so they were far away from their home and family since 1997) and so the midwifery services started about 2 years ago to give the possibility to the cree families to welcome their babies at home.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Supporting bringing back births on the Land of Eeyou Itschee. Discovering cree culture and language, food, land, traditional gathering, wild blueberries picking in the summer, learning traditional artcraft. Possibility to come in Magdalen Islands in the Summer.

  • Help

    Help

    As a midwife I am on call 24/7 for two months on the Land so I need help to take care of the kids if I have to go at a birth (often in the middle of the night ;) and also to be there for the lunch time and after school. I offer the transport to come here (from Montreal, Qc, Abitibi, if elsewhere, we can discuss it), lodging, food and compensation. People in Chisasibi speak Cree and English mostly, but we speak French at home (would like my kids to learn English as well). I am looking for someone available from mid-May to mid-July and maybe more for next year. I can also offer the drive up to Magdalen Island in the summer. It will be a pleasure to meet you and share together. :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a private house with three bedrooms and two bathroom. You will have your own private room and private bathroom as well in the basement (which is well lighted) to ensure your intimacy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can go pretty everywhere in the town by foot or by bicycle.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    24h/7

Host ref number: 521984716561