Sweet Home Chicago! Come and stay and help with some minor organisation, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 218 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    23  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    92

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️AT THIS TIME, I AM ONLY ACCEPTING INTERNATIONAL VOLUNTEERS THAT ARE ALREADY IN CHICAGO OR HAVE SOLID TRAVEL PLANS TO VISIT CHICAGO. *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    Hello Travelers! Right now, I would welcome some help with a little bit of cleaning, gardening, painting & minor organization at my home. Please note that the sleeping arrangement is an deluxe double high queen sized mattress, but you will have a private room, private bath, kitchen and wifi, and a great opportunity for cultural exchange!

    I am a woman living in great neighborhood in Chicago called Ukrainian Village, located 2.5 miles (4 kilometres) from downtown and the lakefront! Easy bus or bike ride to downtown, or just walk to the train and take the 9 minute express ride! Close to trendy Wicker Park and Bucktown neighborhoods. My volunteers from all over the world bring their positive energy and leave with great memories of living and loving Chicago, and my world family keeps growing!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Chicago is an amazing city for architecture, food, culture, lakefront, and educational pursuits. Chicago is a great base from which to travel to Indiana, Wisconsin, Michigan or Iowa - or even fly inexpensively to other states. I can share insider tips for free and discount activities - perfect for the budget traveler! There are many meetup groups for the solo traveler looking to socialize. If it is a positive experience, I am also happy to act as a work/personal reference for you.

  • Help

    Help

    FLUENT ENGLISH INTERNATIONAL TRAVELERS OVER THE AGE OF 21 ONLY, priority given for experienced workaway volunteers with good reviews. Great opportunity for International students in between semesters who want to save money, or gap year travelers.

    I would welcome some help with a few small tasks in my home: cleaning, light painting, laundry, packing and moving light household items, organizing garage, basement & general maintenance. I have a small garden that could always use some love and care. Typical volunteer day is 8 am to 12 noon then the rest of the day is your free time to sight see and enjoy Chicago. I am happy to provide you with tips about the city, and we might occasionally share a meal, but I also have a busy job and also need some private time as well :)

    HOUSE RULES: NO smoking, NO drugs, NO drama and NO outside guests permitted. Quiet time is after 10 pm. A passport or ID and outgoing plane/bus ticket or plans will need to be provided upon arrival or an explanation of travel plans. This is my home, not a hostel, so please be a good guest!

    Due to the number of applicants, please include your dates of availability, whether you have been to Chicago before or have friends here, your present location and what you consider your strongest skills so that I can find the tasks that best fit your personality and ability.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Elementary Spanish, Elementary French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers stay in a separate apartment with kitchen, 2 bedrooms and bathroom. I live in the upstairs apartment. If you are traveling together, you may be asked to share a double bed in order to accommodate another volunteer in the other bedroom. All towels & bed linens provided, free laundry. Please be kind to other volunteers - you might make lasting friendships! If conflict arises, you will all be asked to leave. This is not a hostel, please remember it is my home. Peace, Kindness and Tranquility.

    Food Provided- You will be given food to make self serve breakfast (eggs, fruit, cereal, bread, rice, peanut butter, jam, milk, coffee, tea. If you have special dietary needs (gluten,vegan dairy-free, etc.) that is your responsibility. There is a kitchen available for you to cook and keep your food. There are many nearby cheap markets and cafes to eat and buy groceries for the rest of your meals. I try to have a weekly meal together with volunteers, but sometimes our schedules do not match, so it is not promised.

    How to Get Here -Transportation - 45 minutes from Midway or O'Hare airport, Unlimited weekly Ventra pass to ride bus & train is $28 USD. My address will be given upon confirmation. Use google maps. No after midnight arrivals, please.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Chicago is one of the greatest cities in the world for architecture, cultural activities, restaurants, lakefront activities, festivals, concerts and universities. There is an abundance of free and low-cost things to do and I can provide free guest passes to world-class museums. Volunteer responsible for transportation - options include bus/train passes, and/or bike share membership. Everything you need is within walking distance.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours a day, in the morning

Beautiful Skyline of Chicago
Spanish Volunteers Andrea and Nieves taking good care of the garden!
A volunteer sanding & painting a table. She did a beautiful job!
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)















Host ref number: 518232268244