1 / 5

Join in and help on our Boer goat farm in Central Pennsylvania, USA



 Min stay requested: at least 1 month



  • Description


    We run a farm with approximately 100 Boer goats and three horses. Our goats are sold for meat as well as breeding stock. Throughout the summer months, many of our weekends are spent showing our goats. Guests do not need prior knowledge or experience working with goats, only a willingness to learn and a fondness for animals.

    Our farm sits on about 30 acres of land, though we are also close to a town of about 6,800 people. There is a lot of opportunity for hiking and outdoor activities in the area. We do not have public transportation or rideshares in the area. We are located about 300km from Philadelphia, 450km from New York City, 200km from Pittsburgh, and 250km from Washington DC.

    Gale and I (Crys) both work full-time for the Pennsylvania Department of Corrections (state prisons). I am a teacher and Gale is a prison guard. I am generally home in the evenings and on weekends. Gale's schedule is much less predictable, and he often works 16 hour shifts, requiring him to sleep during the day.

    Our living space is probably best suited for one person (full-size bed), but a couple travelling together would likely be comfortable.

    We look for Workawayers to become part of our family by sharing meals and learning from one another.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy sharing our American culture and Central Pennsylvania cuisines with guests. We have some experience in traveling to the Caribbean and Europe and enjoy learning about new cultures and cuisines.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help


    We need help feeding and maintaining the goats daily. Maintenance of the goats includes largely things such as grooming, giving medications when needed, and handling them so that they are friendly as well as cleaning out the stalls. The ability to lift 50 pounds of feed is required.

    There are also small building projects such as repairing the barns and fences.

    Guests will receive accommodations (including meals) and a weekly wage for farm related work. There is usually between 30-35 hours of work per week, for which we pay $225.

    We both work full-time jobs, so help around the house (cooking and tidying) would also be appreciated. We do have an indoor dog (75 pounds) to keep guests company throughout the day.

    Guests who are interested in working with the horses would also be welcomed to do so. They love to be brushed and riding is available.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Czech, Spanish, or any other language a guest is willing to share!

  • Accommodation


    Guests will stay in our home with us. We do not have children. They will have their own bedroom with a full-size bed and full bathroom. They will have full access to the kitchen and common living space. There is a washer and dryer available. Food will be provided for guests to prepare their own breakfasts and lunches (sometimes on weekends Gale may treat us to a Pennsylvania breakfast). We would prefer that Workawayers plan to eat most dinners with us so that we can get to know each other and practice/learn language.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many opportunities for hiking, kayaking, and fishing in the area. There is also and Amtrak station within 15 minutes, which makes accessing Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, and New York City very convenient. The closest airport is in State College, PA (a bustling college down), about 45 minutes away via car. There is no public transportation or ride share available in the area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have reliable wifi in the house. There is a small office area where a laptop could be set up. Our dining room table is my favorite place to set up my laptop because of the sun that shines in.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We do have space for travel trailers/vans up to about 25 feet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    30 - 36 hours per week

Host ref number: 137423679366

Feedback (10)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.9)

Seeking dog lover to look after my beautiful puppies Miami, USA
Help with various property maintenance, repair, updating and outdoor projects in Omaha, Nebraska, USA