Help with our vegetable garden and discover the beautiful landscape on the island of Quihua, Chile

Country

Chile

Favourited 125 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/03/2020

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    hello, my wife and I live on the island of Quihua, commune of Calbuco, Tenth Region, Chile on land of 4 hectares, where we do organic farming and conserve natural grasslands plus a small native forest, it is a quiet place with a lot of silence and contact with nature, when the sky is clear you can see the Andes, also can go down to see the water channels around the island, there are many flowers and very starry nights without light pollution.

    hola , mi esposa y yo vivimos en la isla Quihua , comuna de Calbuco, décima Región , Chile en un campo de 4 hectáreas, donde hacemos agricultura orgánica y conservamos praderas naturales más un pequeño bosque nativo, es un lugar tranquilo , con mucho silencio y contacto con la naturaleza , cuando está el cielo despejado se ve la cordillera de los Andes, también se puede bajar a ver los canales de agua que rodean la isla , hay muchas flores y las noches muy estrelladas sin contaminación lumínica.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Farmstay help

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    they will learn organic farming, they will discover a beautiful landscape, they will get to know the local gastronomy

    van a aprender agricultura órganica , van a conocer un hermoso paisaje, van a conocer la gastronomia del lugar

  • Help

    Help

    We need help in the smaller orchard (planting vegetables, weeding, preparing the soil) and also help in some smaller farm infrastructure (barnyard chickens, fences, wood)

    necesitamos ayuda en huerta menor ( plantar verduras , desmalezar, preparar la tierra) y también ayuda en alguna infraestructura menor de la granja ( corral de las gallinas, cercos, leña)

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent
    English: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    we have a room for volunteers with full bed and living room to read

    tenemos una habitación para voluntarios con cama completa y salon para leer

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    we also work with the local community in some grassroots organizations helping the progress of Yaco Alto, we also have contact with indigenous communities, we will also go on Saturdays to the 'mercado de puerto montt' to sell vegetables, we really like music, we listen to and play african music, Latin american music, etc.

    nosotros también trabajamos con la comunidad local en algunas organizaciones de base ayudando al progreso de Yaco Alto , también tenemos contacto con comunidades indígenas, también vamos los dias Sábados al mercado de puerto montt a vender la verdura, nos gusta mucho la música , escuchamos y prácticamos música de africa , de latino america , etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week













Host ref number: 515363877869