Enjoy a beautiful valley in southern Chile in a family Eco-project

Country

Chile

updated  

Favourited 85 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are four families that share a beautiful land located in the Ñuble valley, where we’re developing permaculture projects, and building our homes with natural building techniques. We also have a small homeschool project, with children ages 1 to 6.
    We like to experiment and learn to make our life easier and more comfortable, in a sustainable way. Also we like sharing and enjoying in a healthy and joyful way: music, games, healthy food, good talks, fire, books, getting lost around, etc.
    We are located near the small town of San Fabian, six hours south of Santiago (by train), in the beautiful Ñuble valley surrounded by mountains, rivers, lagoons... It’s not a popular touristic spot but you’ll be totally surprised. There are many trekking nearby, you can arrange a horseback riding tour, also take a bath in the river, or even do some rafting. We are located walking distance from San Fabián, where you can enjoy local organic food, crafts and culture of south central Chile.
    You’ll become part of our community, working and participating in the different projects, but also you’ll have time to discover the nature that surrounds us and enjoy this beautiful place.

    Family – Child friendly
    Music friendly
    Vegetarian friendly


    ----------



    Somos cuatro familias que compartimos un hermoso terreno situado en el Valle del Ñuble, donde estamos desarrollando proyectos de permacultura y construyendo nuestras casas con construcción natural. Además tenemos un pequeño proyecto de escuela alternativa, con niños de 1 a 6 años.
    Nos gusta experimentar y aprender para hacer nuestra vida más fácil y cómoda, de una manera sustentable. También compartir y disfrutar de manera sana y alegre; música, juegos, comidas ricas, conversaciones interesantes, fogatas, libros, etc.
    Estamos ubicados cerca del pueblo de San Fabián, a seis horas al sur de Santiago, en el hermoso valle del río Ñuble, rodeados por hermosas montañas, un lugar muy poco conocido turísticamente pero sorprendente! . Se pueden realizar caminatas, trekkings, paseos a caballo, además de bañarte en el río, incluso bajar el río en rafting. Estamos ubicados a unos pocos kilómetros del pueblo de San Fabián de Alico donde se puede disfrutar de comida local, artesanías y cultura del centro sur de chile.
    Te integrarás a la vida comunitaria, participando en actividades y trabajos, pero también tendrás tiempo para descubrir la naturaleza que nos rodea y disfrutar de este hermoso lugar.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We like receiving volunteers, we value the cultural and knowledge exchange and also the help we receive with hard work, because there’s always so much work to do! Always in a friendly and relaxed way.
    We like to share our knowledge and experience with whom decides to visit us: music, astronomy, nature, loving childcare, healthy cooking, reiki, organic farming, bee-keeping and much more!
    Also visitors can learn about permaculture , natural building and low-tech projects.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help to build and maintain our community project. We are now building two houses using natural building techniques and low-technologies. We also need help to work in our land, gardening, landscaping and general maintenance.
    Our kids are an important part of our community, so we need help taking care of them and keeping them company. They will be the happiest with your visit, because they are very curious and sociable, and also enjoy talking very much so you’ll be able to practice your Spanish!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish , English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can stay in our community dome or in a tent, with access to the common bathroom (composting toilette and sun heated shower)
    You’ll be part of our community life, sharing lunch together (usually vegetarian) and will be able to cook your own meals. You can join us in our social activities (celebrations, hikings, picnics, etc)
    You will work a maximum of 5 hours per day, 5 days a week. And we will try to give you work according to your interests and skills.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We’ve had great experiences with visitors in other opportunities; they enjoyed nature and sharing with us, also learned about building and permaculture.
    We hope that visitors can collaborate with our project, enjoy themselves and share their interests and skills with us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 563242962714