updated   Last minute

Come and help around a village house in a small, tranquil, quiet village in Transylvania, in Chidea, Romania

  • Favourited 45 times
  • Last activity: 12 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello everyone!

    My name is Attila, I am a Hungarian-speaking man in his 50s who is looking for help to renovate his newly bought village house.  The village is 40 km away from the city of Cluj-Napoca, it is remote and hidden among the hills. It is called Chidea and only a few people live here, so it is quiet and peaceful. 

    I have four grown-up children and two of my daughters have travelled to distant countries with Workaway. I watched them have amazing experiences, until one day, when I decided to join this community as a host.

    My main motive for joining Workaway is to improve my English language skills. I have been using Duolingo every day for a few years, but it is a different level when it comes to speaking with foreigners. Of course, I need help around the house, and an extra hand is always good, but your main help will be your company, your English speaking skills and that you leave me no choice but to practise the language. 

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Everything has a special charm in the village of Chidea, as it represents one of the most beautiful examples of traditional architecture in Cluj County. The village, first mentioned in 1344, has several hundred inhabitants. Everything here is made of stone, taken from the hills surrounding the village. It is calcareous tuff, a volcanic rock from which everything can be built. The houses were made of stone, the walls of the houses are still made of stone, without plaster or lime, and only the roof is made of tiles.
    The surrounding villages are also traditional Transylvanian, so wherever you go nearby, you will experience an authentic and relaxed atmosphere.
    Life here is simple, slow and quiet.

    The nearest city is Cluj-Napoca, one of the most vibrant cities in Romania. Many students come here to study at the university, so during autumn-winter-spring there are many parties and interesting events. In summer you can enjoy the Electric Castle Festival or the Untold Festival. 
    The city is considered the unofficial capital of the historic province of Transylvania, so you can also visit churches, museums or old buildings/squares of historical value.

    If you are more interested in nature, there are many opportunities to go hiking in Cluj County. Trains and public transport are easy to use and hitchhiking is always an option here in the Balkans.

    We also often go to pick mushrooms with my family nearby in the woods, you can join us if you like.

  • Help

    Help

    Overall, I need an extra hand in my daily tasks, which are:
    - feeding the animals
    - cleaning the cages of the animals
    - gardening
    - general maintenance of the house, such as cleaning, organising and helping with cooking
    - renovating and building when needed 

    We also have four seasons here, so the help changes accordingly. Here is what kind of seasonal help I need:

    FALL
    - harvesting fruits and vegetables (grapes, peaches, corn, etc.)
    - cooking jams
    - canning homemade food 
    - planting
    - deep cleaning the house before winter

    WINTER
    - every winter we butcher a pig, it is a very traditional Transylvanian event, you can attend if you like and you can see and learn the whole process of making meat products using every part of a pig. It is usually fun, family and friends gather, we drink pálinka (strong alcohol) and locals come to help, but it is a whole day.
    - cutting tree trunks for indoor heating

    SPRING
    - deep cleaning of the house after winter
    - planting

    SUMMER
    - canning homemade food (like delicious zakuszka)
    - making jams
    - harvesting fruits and vegetables


    I am flexible with the help, you can tell me what your preferences are in general, like:
    - you like to help indoors
    - you prefer to help with plants/animals
    - prefer to go through a project from start to finish 
    - you like general maintenance help

    SCHEDULE
    The schedule can be discussed, there are a few things that are fixed, like the animals have a routine in feeding time, also sometimes the seasonal work has to be done within a few days. 
    Other than that I am flexible with the schedule. If you prefer to finish in the morning & have a free afternoon, we can do that, or the other way around.
    Or if you want to work more than 5 hours a day and have more free days, that is fine too. Or the other way: less than 5 hours daily but more than 5 days of help. 

    I don't expect you to help more than 25 hours a week, but I do expect you to keep track of your hours and let me know how you plan your work & free days, so I can prepare the projects.

  • Languages spoken

    Hungarian: Fluent
    Romanian: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Two options:
    1. For 1 or 2 volunteers: a room in the house where I live, shared bathroom and kitchen.
    2. If many volunteers or a family comes, I have an extra house (which is kinda empty but working well as a guesthouse), you can stay there too. Of course the bathroom and kitchen will be private. This other house is only a few minutes walk from the house I live in now.

    The houses are well equipped: running water, heating (with wood), shower, washing machine, fridge, cooking facilities, wifi, TV.

    FOOD
    I will cook every day when you are with me, 2-3 times a day (we can discuss the schedule together) and we will eat together.
    I am a meat eater, but if someone is a vegetarian, I can cook without meat, but you have to help me, because I don't know many recipes. 
    Coffee, tea are included every day and you can have fresh and unprocessed farm milk.
    About drinking water: we drink tap water (it is the same as in Cluj-Napoca, coming from the mountains), but if someone doesn't like it, they can buy bottled water. 
    Snacks and drinks are at your expense.

    Important note: I smoke in the house (for now) and I don't drink alcohol.
    I would also like to add a keyword to show who has read my whole profile: Telemea. Please add this as a P.S. note at the end of your request, otherwise I won't consider it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transport to the village
    There are no buses coming directly to this village, but there are buses going to Vultureni or Ciumãfaia or Borsa (nearby villages).
    Or there are trains that go to Bonțida. 
    Wherever you go, I will pick you up with a car, also I might be in the city of Cluj-Napoca, so maybe I can take you all the way.
    And during your stay, if you want to go somewhere nearby, I can help you with the buses/trains and I can drop you at the station by car.
    I also go into town every week, so you can come with me. 
    But don't forget: hitchhiking works very well here! 

    Communication 
    As my English is not very fluent, my children will help me with the communication so that you can arrive safely. Once you arrive, I will take care of you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I can accommodate digital nomads, wifi works very well here and cable internet is also an option. But the phone signal is very weak in the village, it is strong only at the top of the hill.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    You can come with a campervan, you can park it in the yard of the house, in front of the house or even on top of the hill.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    You can bring your dogs/cats, but you will have to take care of them. The village is full of pets and they are usually not on a lead.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 514155237615

Feedback (4)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)






Experience life in traditional village Batrâna, Romania
Join our family and help with some gardening and fruit trees in Sinca Noua, Romania