1 / 3

Help me to improve my garden and with some DIY in Empuré, France

  • France
  • Favourited 4 times
  • Last activity: 2 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    Hello.I moved to the Charente in France over two years ago. I live in a beautiful small village which has a church and a town hall. My house is very old and rustic. I have started to renew certain things and gradually I hope to improve it but without loosing character. My garden is quite big and needs iPa lot of improvement. The village is in a agriculture area and there are some beautiful walks or bike rides. We have several lakes for swimming and they have beaches and picnic areas. My nearest village for banks, cafe’s and pharmacy is five minutes away and the larger town for supermarkets, market and other shops and restaurants is twenty minutes. During the summer there are numerous events celebrating bread or wine or produce. The summer can be quite hot. I have two small friendly dogs, two cats and two small parrots. I love to cook, I do not eat meat. Life here is very easy going and relaxed.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am English. I live and socialise in a community of both French and English people.

  • Help


    The main help I would appreciate is to improve the garden. Removing an old chicken enclosure, loads of digging and weeding and levelling the lawn. I would also like help to establish an above ground swimming pool. Approximately 20’ x 10’. I will also appreciate help with painting walls in the house. Some of the walls are very high. There are some wooden window and door frames that need some work on and a summer house that needs some repairs and varnishing.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would like to improve my French.

  • Accommodation


    My house is a detached stone property which has 3 bedrooms, two living rooms and is quite spacious. I am happy to provide and cook all meals or provide the ingredients if people prefer to cook their own.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many amazing lakes, chateau, villages, good restaurants. The coast being approximately 1.30 hours away. Futurascope, oradour sur glane, Bordeaux and Cognac all within easy distance for a day out. I am a relaxed person and am passionate about many things. I love to socialise and I love to laugh. I am respectful and hard working. I enjoy good food, good wine and the sunshine. I respect and love animals and nature is my passion. I am lucky to have amazing family and friends. I believe I am quite intelligent and I do not appreciate people who are looking to take advantage of others.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 653291317975