1 / 4

Helping in an ecological vegetable garden and/or renovation help in Picardy, France

  • France
  • Favourited 21 times
  • Last activity: 22 May 2023



 Min stay requested: 1 week or less



  • Description


    In 2021, we found this beautiful farmhouse and grainery (which is a ruin) with 2,5 acres of land in the Thierache, where we have started to grow our own vegetables and fruit.
    We love the nature, the serene atmosphere of this place that we share with birds and other small wild animals. Working in the garden, harvesting and eating from it is so rewarding.
    We follow as much as possible the permaculture principles. We are still "starting up" and we have lot of ideas, so there is a lot of work to be done.

    We also have a dream of renovating the old grainery, which now is a ruin, in a traditional way. We work on this steadily, throughout the year, and could use some help. Besides this, there is maintenance work in and around the house.

    We are also interested to learn more about you, where you come from and how do you live and work.
    What thrives you to join workaway at our place?

    We are are hosting workawayers for the maximum duration of one week.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience basic life and work close to nature in a small french village. Live the country life, learn from each others lives, experiences and cultural backgrounds.

  • Help


    Depending on the season and weather, you can help us with work in and around the house, the grainery or in the vegetable garden. More specifically, we will be building a greenhouse and start with preparations (based on permaculture principles) for a food forest.
    We are also looking for help with renovating some parts of the house

    Ideally you are pro-active, able to work together, and at the same time able to get things done on your own.
    Don't hesitate to mention what you would like to do so we can make sure we match.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    There are two 'tiny houses' on our property, independent from the main house. One tiny house is fully equiped. The other one is a little bit more "off grid", i.e. private toilet and shower are 50 meters walking.

    Staying here means participating in working and living together, and sharing daily tasks that come with it, like bringing wood into the house, cleaning and cooking (i.e. they don't count as “work”).
    We have three simple but complete meals a day. If you are vegetarian, please let us know.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    At 10 minutes by bike, there is the Axe vert, an old small track railway that is today transformed into a walking- and cyclingpath from Guise to Hirson, and that is a part of EuroVelo 3 (Trondheim - Santiago de Compostela). Next to it is the river Oise, a nice place to enjoy the peace and calm of the water and ideal for canoe.

    If you like walking, there are lots of options (short and long distances) directly from the house and in the region.
    There is an open air piscine in Marle and in Hirson with swimming pool, sauna, hammam, jacuzzi.
    Also worth a visit is the Familistère in Guise (the Utopia of Godin) and the abbey of Saint-Michel. You can visit brocantes from April until October.

    The night life is limited to watching the stars and observing bats and other creatures of the night. Social life is quite limited, we live in a small (farmer) village.

    Please note that public transportation is very limited, so having your own car would be recommended. We have a bike at your disposal.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have place for a campervan.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 513558746555

Feedback (1)