Come and help with Garden maintenance and creative outdoor projects on Langs Beach Farm, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 284 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    51  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/02/2021

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We, Suza, artist and Warwick, designer have made ourselves a new home closer to nature and are now learning to live a more sustainable, healthier lifestyle. We have 3 chickens, 7 lambs and 1 little dog and we are growing our own vegies and some fruit. Anyone who is a a keen gardener, house keeper, carpenter/builder to help us around the farm and/or architect/designer graduate to join our studio work is very welcome. You would be working 4 hours a day, share with us the challenges, the good fun and conversation and of course the yummy home grown food. Your land has ocean views, is only 7 min walking distance to the beach and includes farmland and native bush with a little waterfall. There is a cabin, compost dunny, tree shower, caravan kitchen, 3 meals a day, surfboards, internet, snorkelling and fishing gear for your use.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Apart from finding out how some New Zealanders spend their days, how they work, chill and think , travellers would learn how to garden, grow food and practise a simple sustainable lifestyle. There also is the opportunity to discover some practical construction, landscaping, cooking, art and design skills. If needed they could improve their English. They could have the opportunity to practise surfing and bush tracking.

  • Help

    Help

    The help is general garden and house maintenance, like weeding, planting and watering. Anyone with knowledge in construction is ALWAYS most welcome. Also we often have IT work,, helping with writing and editing our art proposals or photography, etc, depending on our workload your experience, interest or skills , there is always an interesting job ... If you are an independent thinker, practical, a good worker, love the outdoors and cope well with all sorts of weather conditions and a basic, simple sustainable lifestyle, we would love to hear from you!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a cabin and caravan with WIFi, hot shower, composting loo and camp kitchen, surfboards, wetsuits, snorkelling gear and fishing rods for your use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a lovely little surf beach within walking distance and another 2 vast wild surf beaches only 15 min drive. Our land includes a large bush valley with swimming holes and waterfall and more bush is all around us were one could walk for days on end. There are cafes, shops and museums within 20 min drive. There is a surf school in summer only 15 min drive from here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We can offer Wifi and a nice working environment

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    we have a large parking area with an awesome view

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    well behaved pets are welcome

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours per day or help one day fulltime with the next day off (Max 25 hours/week)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






































Host ref number: 512475558818