Organizing space for living, gardening and making music in Amsterdam, Holland

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 120 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/06/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    904

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I’m a middle-aged lady, I’m classically trained as a concert cellist. Born in America of E. European roots, I ventured off to take a job with the radio orchestra in Ireland when I was 23 and have never looked back! My family consists of two young sons, who have their own lives and my “mission” in China and helping conservatory students on their way here in Amsterdam to independent housing. I started up a charity which I run with my ex. We supply live chamber music and jazz ensembles to old folk’s homes for entertainment! My project is to make my private flat, where I host students, as nice as possible. I have lost, unused space on the rooftop and in the attic! I need creative designers and a person who can use a hammer and nails to build some planting boxes. Also some painting walls would be nice! The floor in the attic is plain wood and needs stripping and refinishing and the insulating ceiling tiles. I would love to use the attic as a recording studio and practice room!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The area is top, I’m a professional classical musician, clubs, cinema and concert halls are all a stone’s throw away. There is a public library with WiFi (pay as you go or buy a year’s membership for €30) around the corner.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Build, create and grow a working rooftop garden. I do my own compost and vermiculite. We need boxes for growing veggies as well as decorative plants, plants and a watering system.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One bed-room, table, dresser, mirror. Share kitchen, shower, wc, living room, piano, tv, with me, upon invitation.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Around the corner is a public library, 5 rowing clubs, walking, cycling, swimming and museums galore!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Hi-my best friend was one of the original hackers of the internet set up here at Universities back in the early '80's. Then he improved the memory card for the Apple II home computer then imported it to Europe via Steve Jobs. He even got it into Russia through Serbia! Having said all that, I only used unlimited wifi data. You can get one of those accounts too, while staying here and working with me on my projects! How does that sound? Best wishes!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 3 days a week


Host ref number: 498795251973