Help to realize our Community-dream project and eco-jewelry studio! south east of Sicily, Italy

Country

Italy

updated   Last minute

Favourited 1409 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    42  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    2140

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, Lorenzo(33) and Placida(36) here!
    We are a couple living in the south-east of Sicily, on the top of a hill close to Avola (Siracusa), in the middle of a 25-hectare property close to Nature Reserves (Cavagrande del Cassibile and Vendicari) and UNESCO baroque cities.
    Lorenzo: I'm Sicilian, I'm from Noto, a wonderful baroque city but I grew up in the countryside. After being a farmer I quitted discovering my creative side. So I started to experiment with natural materials and finally founded a natural jewelry brand that utilizes materials that I harvest in this part of Sicily. I'm passionate about traditional Sicilian music which I also sing and play, plants, sustainability, crafts, and everything is about being using our intuitive side making or fixing things.
    Placida: I'm a Spanish contemporary dancer, passionate in body consciousness trough Improvisation Dance. I'm also interested in community living, body/mind therapies, creativity in performing arts.
    We live in a little house on a part built on the rock close to a big cave, near Lorenzo's parent's house and the jewelry studio. we share our space with volunteers: kitchen, living room and bathroom for showers (we prefer to use outdoor compost toilet). You accomodation will be in caravan. There are also 2 cats and 2 dogs around.
    We live our lives for creativity and sustainability and we'd like to get to know other open-minded people traveling around the world.
    We both speak English and Spanish and eat organic food, mostly vegetarian/vegan, local and glutenfree.
    IMPORTANT: HANDY PEOPLE, ESPECIALLY WITH BUILDING SKILLS AND WOODWORK SKILLS, VEGAN-VEGETARIAN-GLUTEN-FREE COOKING SKILLED PEOPLE, CREATIVE/ARTISTIC PEOPLE ESPECIALLY WITH SKILLS CONNECTED TO FASHION AND ADVERTISEMENT, ARE ESPECIALLY WELCOME, more if you have two or more of these skills together.
    We especially prefer people already use to country life able to use their hands and cook for their selves and others and physically fit, able to be flexible and adapt to new environments and people, possibly use to drive and with an independent but social attitude.

    ATTENTION, the next part is an advertisement dedicated to people interested to start the community project with us:
    OUR DREAM IS TO SHARE OUR LAND AND WE ARE LOOKING FOR PEOPLE TO START A NEW COMMUNITY AND LIVE HERE FOR A LONG TERM (a community economically based on arts and crafts works): We have the luck to have Land and we want to share this precious gift to live in cooperation, creativity, self-sufficiency, deep relationships-friendships, eco-sustainability and a lot more. Sicily is empty of willing and skillful young (or not) people but it has so much to offer in nature and relationships, re-fill it is our goal.
    WE LOOK FOR PEOPLE WITH DIFFERENT SKILLS like community life, art, handcrafts (WE ALREADY NEED MORE PEOPLE TO WORK IN THE JEWELRY PROJECT) music and contemporary dance(especially improvisation: WE HAVE THE PROJECT TO BUILD A BIG DANCE SPACE AND HOST DANCERS FROM ALL AROUND THE WORLD FOR WORKSHOPS, RESIDENCES, AND FESTIVAL), non-violent communication and facilitation, permaculture design and practice (WE LOOK FOR PEOPLE WILLING TO RE-DESIGN THIS PLACE WITH ECO-SELF-SUFFICIENT PRINCIPLES), perma-agriculture and alternative agricultures, forestal development, alternative energies, eco-building, woodwork, electronics, hydraulics, natural medicines, libertarian education, and every kind of skill CONNECTED WITH SELF SUFFICIENCY AND ECO COMMUNITY LIFE.
    We would like to use a Workaway exchange as a way to know each other and start a relationship in case you could be interested to start the community with us.
    We hope to hear from you soon and develop something new together!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Lorenzo loves to share his knowledges about local plants, landscape and environment, local cities architecture and rural history, about sicilian traditional old music, instruments and life style, natural jewelry, creativity, and hand crafts in general.
    Placida loves to share her knowledges in contemporary dance, Improvisation art, body consciousness and traveling.
    We are both interested in rural Community foundation and we'd like to get more exchange on it.
    We like a lot to share Natural Food knowledges and to know new recipes and ingredients.

  • Help

    Help

    Here the works we are going to do in 2020:
    -help with land cleaning
    -help to order and clean around and in the studio
    -help to collect and work some trunks to make furnitures
    -help to make shelves for the jewellery studio
    -harvest and order some of the jewellery materials coming from plants

    -ALL THE YEAR: WE ALWAYS ENJOY SOMEONE REALLY ABLE TO COOK HEALTHY VEGETARIAN-VEGAN MEALS for all, we ask to do it as a work exchange if you can be independent and able to do it with local ingredients.
    We really enjoy to host creative people specially able to build and fix things.
    -Harvesting, drying, ordering materials, and making little jewelry works can be part of your duties (but not as a principal job, we are not going to teach you how to make natural jewelry in general, only little things) during Spring and Summer.
    We also expect you to help with dishes and keeping the place clean in general,in the spaces we share and the caravan you use, as house mates, this outside of working hours.

    -(suspended)TO ISOLATE OUR HOUSE AND CAVE FROM A WATER INFILTRATION: we digged all the soil in 2018, almost finished to fill up with stone and made dry wall stone,BETWEEM THE HALF OF MATCH AND THE HALF OF APRIL 2020 we want to finish to put on level, and cover with organic concrete.
    This is the most important work to us that needs people physically fit.
    Our goal is to finish it before winter to see if it will be working with the rain.

    -(suspended)AUTUMN/WINTER:(once the isolation work will be finished)TO MOUNT A LITTLE VILLAGE FOR THE GUESTS:
    1.TO DISMOUNT AND REMOUNT A PREFABRICATED SECOND HAND LITTLE ROOM TO MAKE A BATHROOM (prepare the base, mount the water system, sink, shower and compost toilet)
    2. TO DISMOUNT AND REMOUNT A PREFABRICATED SECOND HAND LITTLE ROOM TO MAKE A KITCHEN (prepare the base, install the water system, sink and more)
    3. TO MOVE A CARAVAN close to these two little buildings.
    HYDRAULIC, ELECTRICAL, CARPENTRY, CONSTRUCTION AND GENERAL MANUAL SKILLS ARE ESPECIALLY WELCOME.

    Generally we try to concentrate the work in the morning to leave free afternoons for the volunteers.
    In summer the work, if physical, starts very early to be not very hot.
    We like to share but even to have independent people on free and work time.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation in two caravans both with a double and a single bed (3 places hitch: a double and a single bed, even good for a family, we don't ask you to share it with people that you don't know, so you could always have your privacy), and tent in summertime.
    People traveling with their own Van-Camper are super welcome too.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lorenzo was a member of a volunteer organization for farmers (wwoof) as a host for 2 years before workaway.
    We met when Placida came as a volunteer to Lorenzo, so we know about welcoming new people and cultural exchange.
    Avola is the closest city (5 km) and there's need of a car to move from here to other places. When you’ll arrive we will come to pick you up from the bus/train station if you want (you could even walk if you feel like it :P but is a long steep way ). In Avola you can take buses/trainsto the principal cities in the area.
    We are very close to the fantastic Cava Grande natural reserve, the biggest canyon in Europe and quite close to the sea (7 km).
    We share our car with people able to drive.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

one of the two caravans where we host our guests volunteers, with Bruno (a super friendly guy from Argentina relaxing in his hammock)
Lorenzo, Placida e Pallino, our dog, during a very nice walk to the wonderful valley close to our place (you can see it in the back, our place is on top of the hill of left in the background).
One of the two Caravans where we host our guests volunteers in a nice pine wood spot.
Harvest of wild asparagus during a nice free day walk in the nature with the company of our workawayers-friends
The awesome view from our house
Our little old stone house
Lorenzo’s parents house
Lorenzo painting with lime the ex goats stable to make in his new father’s woodwork studio.
Plácida dancing in front of the sea in Marzamemi, a nice old fisherman village in this area.
One example of natural earrings of Lorenzo's jewelry project.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


























Host ref number: 721372774154