Come help me with permaculture garden and enjoy Southern France

Country

France

Favourited 212 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    33  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Do you like the "Silence of Wild Nature"? You are welcome to "workaway" on my little former farm, in the midst of forests and hills, close to a natural lake in the mediterranean climate. From February 2019 on, the organic vegetable, fruit & herbal garden has been started. I'm learning along the way, together with Workawayers who have come and helped me making garden beds, making mistakes and learning from them.

    Spring + summer 2022 will be about seeding, planting, watering plants, cutting grass, and some house repair - doors, windows, things like that. But also about enjoying the weather, the nearby lake, good meals and good company.

    Till June 23rd, my friend's dog Pacha will stay with me here. He's playful and would looove your company too!

    I'm a Dutchman, born 1962 who wanted to live in France since he was 25 years old. My mission is to cultivate compassion with all beings in this world. I found this farm house in 2019 after searching for over 3 years. It has become a place where people and other sentient beings live and feel at ease, in and around a permaculture garden. Next to that, I'm here to help people (online and offline) solving their painful puzzle with love and relationships.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The house is in an area where the French are open-minded and relaxed with foreigners. I've searched for 3,5 years to find this beautiful place. If you would be interested, I would love to share with you my enthusiasm for the theory and practice of buddhism and meditation, music and science, including neuropsychology, trauma healing, and much more.

    I've been a teacher of business and politics. I now work as an author and coach, mostly online, and you can learn about ethical online marketing and promotion with me.

    Essentially I'm a safe, trusted harbour for many people. As a consequence of doing much deep inner work myself, my lifelong spiritual journey and buddhist meditation, I assist people on their emotional and spiritual paths.

    Ton is my Dutch first name. We can speak Dutch, English, German or French. I'm fluent in Dutch, good in English, quite good in German and French; I'd gladly help you practice your languages!

  • Help

    Help

    You can help shape this little paradise for yourself and others who come after you. And for all living creatures, of course.

    Since I only started out here in February 2019, you are most welcome to help with:
    > carpentry (shelves, fixing doors, windows and blinds, build a staircase closet, and more)
    > dry stone walling the old stone garden walls (I added a picture that shows the current condition);
    > gardening (improve upon the original garden);
    > permaculture (there are 2 hectares of bare soil);
    > general maintenance and repairs;
    > building (creating a tiny house for yourself and other workawayers);

    > promoting my online teaching and coaching services (if you know online marketing, or you learn fast, and you are fluent in Dutch);

    Working 25 hours a week would be a fair rate, but you can do more when you’re enjoying yourself.

    I understand that some Workawayers are very short of money. If needed, I can support you with your travel expenses.

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    English: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A large, simple room of your own. Or bring your camper, or tent.
    Sharing the kitchen, bathroom and wifi.
    Sharing the balcony, garden and beautiful natural surroundings, in a very nice climate.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Quarter of an hour walking distance there is a silent lake, where you can enjoy the pure water.
    Half an hour walking away, and half an hour biking away, you'll find little French villages with a bar, a post office, a grocery shop, and more.
    All around the place are woods where nature reigns, where other animals like birds and insects live, and where you can walk and become empowered by nature.
    For other trips and visits, there are plenty of possibilities within 1 hour driving distance, so we can make nice plans and go sightseeing every now and then. For me, the area is greatly undiscovered as well :-)
    Since we'll be living in the same house, I'm open for a heart connection with you - sharing our emotional and spiritual paths if we both want to. But if you are someone who just wants to work, you're just as welcome.

    Are there any contra-indications? Yes, there are. But let me also put them in a positive way:
    > in winter, you'd be fine in a cold sleeping room with warm duvets and an electric blanket - a farm does not have the luxury of city life
    > in summer, you'd be fine in a non-air conditioned room (but in a house with thick walls)
    > you are fine with "farm hygiene", and want to make friends with spiders and bugs, and be at ease with some dust or dirt
    > you are fine with a rather remote place
    > you are conscious about preventing spoilage (of water, food, etc.) or damage
    > you are fine with discussions, social talk and a light-hearted atmosphere
    > you are fine just as well with limited conversation with me, when I'm in a period of retiring myself
    > you are happy with me preparing meals, where it will be mostly vegetarian and vegan
    > you are not afraid of dinosaurs; this is a many millions years old land, and we must expect Tyrannosaurus Rex to roam around here

    So, if you are interested in such an experience and exchange, please send me a message now.
    I'd love to chat with you about what YOU want out of this adventure, and how we can make this work for you, me, and the project.

    Alrighty? I'll react as fast as I can. Promise.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Me too, I work from home online. (As a coach and an educator, mainly.) The internet connection is OK - has flaws and breaks every now and then, but it is certainly not too bad for a place in the mountains.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    A little bit closer or farther away from my house - there are good options, and there is electricity too.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    There is my cat Charlotte who can be quite territorial to other cats, and afraid of dogs. But after some accommodation time, she goes well with other pets.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.7)























Host ref number: 498374921946