Come and Help with cats in Syros - a traditional Greek island

Country

Greece

updated  

Favourited 770 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    232

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    82.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have a vacancy for a mature cat loving person or couple to help care for our rescue cats and kittens from around 20th September but not later than 22nd for a period of at least two weeks. Experienced driver preferred. There is a lot of cage and litter tray cleaning as well as the nicer aspects of cat care so I need someone who is used to caring for a house and grounds and keeping the area looking good as we have a lot of visitors.
    We have 65 plus rescue cats. And are busy, so need people who are motivated and have initiative to notice what needs doing and engage with the project. I like to have volunteers who are over 25.
    Syros is a different Greek island. Things happen here all year, so there's always plenty going on and although it's not so warm here in the winter, there are many mild and sunny days.
    I try to have three or four volunteers at any one time, so the work is not too time-consuming or onerous and everyone can take some time off. Animal care is relentless - the cats want to be fed every day! I'm trying to be more savvy with social media, but we need to raise funds all the time, so if you have these skills it would be good.

    I am British, a retiree from a lifetime in education and live in Syros; a small Greek island. I feed and care for a colony of around sixty five stray cats. The numbers of strays on the island is ever growing and they are seen as a pest by some locals. Consequently many of the cats have a hard time. To address the problem, I set up, a not for profit organisation to neuter, rescue and medicate strays. Many of the cats in the colony were abandoned kittens that we have hand-reared or victims of accidents. I grow lavender and make lavender products to raise money for food, medication and veterinary fees, which are sold to locals and visitors. So there's always plenty to do and we need some help!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be living in a traditional Greek village that does not have much foreign tourism and experience a rural way of life that is rapidly disappearing. The main town of Hermoupolis has a lot of cultural activities; museums, small art galleries, a cinema, theatre, shops and cafes as well as beautiful neo-classical buildings from a former affluent industrial age. There is nice walking on the island and good swimming locally during the summer months. If you wish you can learn some Greek - many of the older villagers do not speak English.

  • Help

    Help

    We care for around 65 cats and need help with the daily feeding, care and cleaning regime. There are lots of litter trays! Occasionally we have to trap cats and take them to the vet for neutering or medical treatment. If we can, we respond to emergency callouts. We also grow lavender and make lavender products, so if you have art or craft skills help would be appreciated. Sometimes we collect lavender from friends' gardens, which has to be dried and processed. We also have collecting tins around the island, book shelves and organise occasional functions; bazaars, charity meals and a presence at local festivities. Help is usually a two to three hours in the morning and an hour in the evening. You can take a full day off each week and some evenings. You will have lots of free time. I am looking for self starters with initiative. Previous experience with cats would be a bonus. It's not a holiday but if you identify with this profile I'm sure like many previous workawayers who have left positive feedback and returned to us, you will enjoy your time here and have a meaningful experience of Greek island life and Animal rescue.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I live in a traditional Greek village house in a small village and on bus route (sparse buses in winter!) to main town in about twenty minutes. I am offering a small en-suite room with two single or a small double bed, sink, cooking rings, microwave, fridge, which is self-contained and adjacent to my house Also access to a sunny walled garden. Wi-Fi is available.. I usually provide breakfast and a couple of evening meals each week. But don't cook other meals on a regular basis. We get lots of gifts of local fruit, vegetables and eggs which I'm happy to share. I have a lot of visitors, but occasionally it may be possible to take families - with very pet-friendly children - who could stay in the main house. Likewise it might also be possible sometimes to take two friends who prefer separate bedrooms. The small house I'm offering is really only suitable for one, or very cosy for a couple! The village of Kini has about 300 year round inhabitants. The beach is about ten minutes walk and there is a mini market and a few tavernas and bars. Even in the winter something is usually open. If you stay in the main house with me I provide food but help with cooking and cleaning up is appreciated!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Task would suit volunteers who are animal lovers and would like to make a difference to animal welfare in Greece. Would suit anyone trained or about to train in veterinary science, veterinary nursing or animal husbandry and who are not afraid of handling feral cats - protective clothing provided! Volunteers will be meeting many people and help with the local vets, so people skills will be important too. Non-smokers preferred. Probably not suitable for under 25s - but you might be able to persuade me otherwise. It's a simple life on the island and would probably suit someone who likes to paint, draw, read or write in their spare time. As getting to know our cats takes time and sometimes patience, I would prefer volunteers who can come for at least a month.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours, 5 days a week


















Host ref number: 16342493454d