Hobby farm help overlooking the Columbia Wetlands in Canada



Favourited 16 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Description


    Alexis comes from Mexico City, so she is still learning about the farm life, however is not afraid to get down and dirty. Matt comes from the ranch life in High River Alberta, he likes to work with his hands and loves to work with the animals and building things.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live 30 km outside of Golden BC overlooking the Columbia Wetlands. Golden itself is situated in between 4 national parks offering lots of hiking, rock climbing, canoeing, rafting, fishing, etc.
    Alexis' mother tongue is spanish, therefore we woudl love to have any spanish enthusiasts as well as spanish speaker... and just maybe Matt will decide to learn heheheh.
    Matt teaches every year bushcraft and survival in the wild which can be very useful in so many scenarios. He is always happy and excited to teach new skills.

  • Help


    We are a young couple looking for help around our hobby farm.
    Alexis is from Mexico originally and Matt is from High River in Alberta.
    Our hobby farm consists of pigs, chickens, horses, a dog and a cat.
    This summer we are looking into doing a to of landscaping, building and reorganizing some areas.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Spanish

  • Accommodation


    Type of accommodation is camping, so be prepared for that. We will provide tents and bedding if needed. We can also show you some basic survival camping as well. Shower and bathroom can be used inside the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Due to the fact that we live in a rural area, internet is limited.
    Helpers can go and do a variety of outdoor activities in their time off. There is no public transport in Golden and surrounding areas. We are willing to help organize rides into town or activities when possible.
    From our house you can go on long walks, biking areas and even some little hikes.
    We do eat lots of meat, therefore this would not be the best place for any vegan travelers. Its is a self catering (from our fridge) for breakfast and lunch, however, dinner will be cooked with all of us together as well as the clean up afterwards.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 496397376899