Come join our wild, energetic family in the "land of the midnight sun" Tagish, Yukon, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 632 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    NOW ACCEPTING host requests for 2022.

    COME join our wild, energetic family in the "land of the midnight sun" Tagish, YUKON. Very busy, community involved family needing help with daily chores around the house and farm.

    NOTE: We are a very busy household. Unfortunately, I do not have time to email back and forth or skype. We host 365 days of the year. PLEASE be very specific in dates as to when you want to arrive. If I have said yes we have space then its yes on my end. I will not be chatting back in forth. We will have lots of time to get to know each other and share stories once you arrive.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about the Klondike Gold Rush, study the language and heritage of the First Nations People, learn gardening and edible plants/berries of the area, canning and preserving of foods, livestock farming, homeschooling, AND Yukon hospitality!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Help welcome all year round.
    IN SUMMER: Garden and greenhouse chores, landscaping, farm help, small building projects, fencing.
    ALL YEAR ROUND: splitting and stacking firewood, light housekeeping, cooking and baking, help with homeschool.
    IN WINTER: Firewood, burning brush, shovelling snow, helping with farm.
    WE welcome any ideas/suggestions you may have in making our family farm thrive & be inviting to others.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We like people to feel part of our family so we offer a privately furnished room in our home or if you are looking for more on the rustic, we have cabins you can stay in.

    We also like to share the cooking, cleaning up of meals together. Great conversations start around the dinner table.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time or days off
    SUMMER you can explore endless wilderness trails and mountains. Kayak and drink fresh water from emerald coloured lakes or enjoy seeing wildlife. We have lots of outside gear for your pleasure. Bikes, camping equipment, fishing gear.
    WINTER you can go snowshoeing, skiing, kick sledding, snowmobiling, build a snowman, sit around the bonfire making s’mores, 😉 OR be taken on a wild adventure by our 4 high energetic boys.

    We also like you to feel part of our family, so hope you will join us on outings and community events. We are very involved with our community volunteering and participating.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have 10 acre property so lots of room to park a motorhome, trailer or tiny house. Water, electricity and outhouse available.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs and cats are what we’ve accommodated helpers with in the past but would be open to other pets too.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.5)




















Host ref number: 488721523536