Come and help us out in a magical village in the south of Chile!

Country

Chile

Favourited 144 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    625

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    WE NEED SOME HELP NOW, IDEALLY DURING THE LAST TWO WEEKS OF AUGUST TO FINISH SOME THINGS (painting, handyman stuff, carpenteering, cleaning,..) We're having a baby in September so finishing up some new adjustments to the house :) Feel free to contact us!


    About a year ago, we - a couple from Chile and Belgium - fell in love with the small rural village Loncotoro in the south of Chile, at only 20 km of Puerto Varas and 30 km of Puerto Montt, the gate to the Chilean Patagonia.
    The place is surrounded by fields, fruit trees, rivers, the second biggest lake of South America and volcanoes!
    We started renovating an abandoned property with a hundred year old house, a beautiful orchard with apple, plumb and cherry trees - a little river - and a small field to keep animals. We're working hard to build a home with a great garden but we still have a lot to do - and therefore we want to call the attention of volunteers!
    We have volunteered ourselves in Europe and Turkey, and we love the idea of exchanging some work to get to know a country and a personal story, while staying on a budget.
    Plans we have are to build a greenhouse, keep some sheep and chickens, renovate the houses, set up a factory of natural soaps and creams, design the garden, paint the house,... And that's where we need your help :)
    The site has a small individual house that needs rebuilding where you could stay, there are many chores to do in carpenteering, gardening, painting, making soap or whatever you might be good at :)
    We're living here together and always have many friends over. Toto is an architect and is always full of energy, great ideas and good vibrations - I moved to chile about a year ago following him around - I'm working on my natural cosmetics brand Maayke and I'm an agronomist with a special interest for rural development.
    We're a young couple who likes to work hard but enjoy a beer afterwards just as much
    If you have the same mindset - let's get in touch asap and exchange a good bed, food and connection to wonderful places in the south of chile for a few hours of work a day!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are located in a tiny village in the south of Chile - the village has a rodeo, a music school, a beautiful little church, a shop and great local architecture. We're very close to Puerto Varas and Puerto Montt, and you can visit some great places on the Pacific from where we are or start your trip to Patagonia.
    We are an international couple - Toto's local and I'm from Belgium - we have travelled a lot ourselves and used workaway to move around, so we can definitely exchange experiences! If you want to practice languages, please say so, I know quite a few!

  • Help

    Help

    We need help in the garden, could be pruning, planting, weeding, harvesting, ... Handy people with some carpenteering skills are most welcome as we are mostly renovating the antigue buildings on the property. We have a small river where a lot of trees and plants are overgrowing each other, this needs some cleaning up. There's a small house on the property that needs a complete make-over. Now it's pruning season for our apple trees and we want to start planting vegetables and get our greenhouse going!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, English, Dutch, French, some Italian, Portuguese and basic Turkish ;)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A very cosy cabin that counts with a bunk bed, small table, little kitchen and a great bathroom.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 487724748182