Join our family in the forest in exchange for help in our home, Woodstock NY, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 94 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/09/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of three. My wife Susana and our son Lucas and myself (Mike). We are in the last and most glorious stages of restoring an old historic house on the original Byrdcliffe Art Colony in Woodstock NY.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Woodstock New York is an absolutely lovely place to spend a month during the summer and fall. It's why we moved here! The weather is gorgeous and we live in the middle of the forest, five minutes to the town. In town there is a very large organic market, a farmers market, and for a small town it's crammed with music spots as part of its heritage as the original planned site of the Woodstock Music festival.
    We are also 2 hours from NYC which is a great weekend trip, and as former New Yorkers, we have lots of suggest about that.
    Each of the projects is something that can be finished in a 2 week stay, so for each of the projects you will be able to take photos of your work to show what you can accomplish.
    We love traveling ourselves and have travelled most of the countries of the world and are open to talking all about the US and anything else that might come up.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Hi,
    We have a beautiful old house situated on 4 private acres of forest in the historic town of Woodstock NY and we are looking for a traveller who would like to come and help us with a few projects:
    1. Landscaping the surrounding forest to create an herb garden and similar landscaping projects.
    2. Helping us to clean the house.
    3. Painting the house.
    4. Helping us to build a deck, patio and treehouse for our six year old son and similar carpentry.
    5. Helping us create a small tadelakt bathroom (we did one ourselves and are looking for help with the second one.
    6. Helping us to transform a stand alone garage into a studio space.
    6. Other stuff.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a gorgeous 4,000 square foot 100 year old house on four acres in the forest. You will have your own room and your own bathroom (though the bathroom could be shared with one other person occasionally). We will provide food for you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 486933296752