Learn about organic coffee at our farm in Jericó, Colombia

  • Colombia
  • Favourited 431 times
  • Last activity: 28 Nov 2023



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    Hi there!

    We, Klara (Czech/Belgian), Agustin (Colombian) and our 3 year old son Saila, are looking for nice human beings to join us on our organic coffee farm Finca and help us take care of our land.

    We bought this farm a couple of years ago because we fell in love with the land and thought this place would be amazing to raise our son. We didn´t know anything about (coffee) farming at that point and kind of turned into coffee farmers overnight. After a year of hard work and a lot of learning we are producing our own coffee brand.

    Since it´s only the 3 of us it is not always easy to get our work done. We are working on and need help with several projects;

    Our coffee is 100% organic. We make our own fertilizer, do permaculture, are restructuring the coffee plantation and are planting more native trees to convert the coffee plantation into a forest with coffee in it, have a few chickens, ducks and rabbits, and are self sustainable in fruit and veggies.
    We receive tourists and offer coffee and cacao tours, workshops natural building and ceramics, and a 2 week Spanish immersion course (possible to get a discount when combined with volunteering).
    The work of our volunteers can vary between making organic fertilizer, fertilizing coffee, taking out weeds, helping with the coffee processing, working in our garden, building, or helping with the animals. In exchange for 3 hours a day 5 days a week we offer a private room (double bed) in our house. You can choose which days you take off. Some days we will need you to commit but overal we are really flexible.

    We are all responsible for keeping the common living spaces clean. Klara usually cooks and asks for help with preparation. If you have a great recepy you want to make you can defenitely do so. We grow our own fruit and veggies. The rest of the ingredients we buy and ask for a weekly contribution. We eat very little meat, some fish and chicken and a lot of veggies and are open to receive vegetarians and vegans and learn from their diets.

    When we have time (which lately it is really hard to find) we make our own flour from yuca and plantain, make oil from avocados, dry herbs, and make wine from the fruits we grow. We would love to maximize the use off all these ingredients again and teach others how to do it and also ideally learn other recipes from others.

    Aside from farming we do natural building, do ceramics and artesanía, practice yoga, read, go for walks in the beautiful surrounding mountains, learn about medicinal plants and enjoy exchanging knowledge. At night we love to drink a glass of wine and smoke some organic tobacco which we grow ourselves.

    Our farm is located in the mountains 10 minutes drive from the small town Jericó. The town is very cultural and artsy with many things to do.

    The climate is warm during the day and cool at night so perfect to sleep. We have 2 dry and 2 rainy reasons a year.

    We are looking for people that are open minded, love to be in nature and take care of Pachamama. You must like kids and dogs, since we have one of each and they will want your attention ;)

    If you have experience in permaculture, (organic) farming and (natural) building it is definitely a plus but not a must. Most importantly we are looking for nice people to share our time and space with.

    Hope to hear from you soon!
    Klara, Agustin and Saila

    PS We try to reply to all messages but please check our calendar before writing to stay during a period that is in "red", gracias!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can practice English and/or Spanish with us. We can teach you what we know about natural building, (coffee) farming, the whole process of coffee utill the final product, artesania, medicinal plants and yoga

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    The work will vary between picking coffee, helping with the coffee processing, working in our garden, making bio fertilizer and fertilizing, building and renovating the house, helping with house tasks, babysitting our son Saila (if you're up for it) and taking care of our animals.

  • Languages spoken

    Czech: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    Private room in our house with a double bed

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is located in the mountains 10 minutes drive from the small town Jericó. The town is very cultural and artsy with many things to do
    There are many trails for great walks and waterfalls nearby.
    The climate is warm during the day and cool at night so perfect to sleep.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    3hours/day, 2 days off

Host ref number: 483466688274

Feedback (16)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help us add magic to our family project in Bojacá, Colombia
We look forward to share, learn and having the opportunity to practice our German in Bogota, Colombia