Join our family and learn about sewing, shiatsu or yoga in Ghent, Belgium

  • Favourited 479 times
  • Last activity: 1 Feb 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a mixed couple(NL/Be) age 68/60 we have small vegetable garden , grow edable flowers and herbs......
    I am looking for some one who like to give helping hand with the gardening /dogcare/ and household stuff would be appreciated. Who can sew -make sewing paterns?
    We are strict non smoking(also NOT "only outside"), we eat manly vegetarian, partly from ower veggie garden and green house.
    My husband is Do-In teacher and practice yoga/shiatsu , I am a young retired midwife specialised in home/waterbirths.
    We like art and culture ,philosophy,veda's,quantum physics,geometrie,historie, beekeeping ,we travel often.
    We stop having beehives at ower place, we participate in the maintenance of a bee meadow with 5 beehives. Bee season start in mars till august, wintertime bees are in rest. Ower old dog Skippy passed away in august 2016. Curent dog Dutchy just became 3 year and is still energetic .......
    I do voluntary work: mainly sewing : dols for the cliniclowns, textile repair cafes ,art projects, etc...
    We spend also time in spain : costa blanca;
    The priority plan is now renovation of the bathroom (breaking tills, creating walk in shower......)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about cultivation of organic garden, use of Effective microorganism, beekeeping, shiatsu,do in, yoga, natural child birth/ water birth, making chutneys, medlar liquor.......etc.
    You can explore Flanders of Belgium.
    Spain: costa blanca village named Javea (80km from Alicante)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    gardening/weeding
    dog care
    teach/practice language spanish/english
    household stuff/shopping
    practice shiatsu and yoga
    some help with computers and internet
    house cleaning
    sewing -making sewing patterns
    sanding/painting
    creating a walk in shower

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house :livingroom 12x6m,kitchen 5x7m,bathroom with separate shower and bath , garden,terrace, garage, bicycle available. You will have your own room ,there is wifi internet connection.
    The house is located in a quit neighborhood named Sint Martens Latem 10km South of Ghent; in 30min you bike to city centre .
    Trainstation on walking distance 2km. Bus stop 3 min walking.
    Spain :house with swimming pool , you will have your own room there is wifi internet connection

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The city of Ghent is an International student city (250.000 population ) in Belgium .
    there is a bicycle for the workawayer.

    In 30 min you bike to city centre of Ghent, trainstation on walking distance 2km
    If we visit family in the Netherlands/ore spain you can join and explore over there.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    volunteer hours expected 5 hours

Host ref number: 659698889865

Feedback (20)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)






















Home and permaculture projects with our family in Kortenkaen, Belgium
Help with some projects at my home in the nice coast town of Knokke in Belgium