Help out on a small farm on the east coast of the beautiful South Island, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 205 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    276

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple living on a small farm just south of Timaru on the east coast of the beautiful South Island, New Zealand. Timaru is a small city with a safe beach called Caroline Bay.
    On the farm we have a few cattle and lease some land out to some girls to use for their for horses. We have a cat that lives outside. She was previously wild, thin and frightened - now she's a fat smooch-puss!
    There is a large vegetable and fruit garden and we like to eat fresh from our garden as much as possible over the summer season. We grow our garden mostly by organic methods and try to preserve as much as we can of our produce for off season use.
    We feel like our home is a little piece of paradise and we are working on building some accommodation that can be offered to people who need some time out to relax and recharge their batteries.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have travelled to and lived in several different countries and we have always preferred to live locally rather than as a tourist. If you stay with us you will live local and learn what it is like to be a kiwi!

  • Help

    Help

    Overseas we did voluntary work for others and since returning home we find we are in need of some help to get our property back in shape. A background of building or practical skills would be very useful as we have some small carpentry projects to complete.

    Help would also be appreciated with tidying up gardens and some general maintenance around the farm. If you can use equipment such as chainsaw, brushcutter and lawnmower we'd like to hear from you. One job will be to help bring firewood from the paddock and stack it. Ideally we would like someone who can work independently to just get on with what needs to be done.

    If you have experience with eco friendly systems that would be a help as we are wanting to establish a small aquaponics system.

    We would also love to learn how to cook some of your local dishes. If you have practical skills and are willing to roll up your sleeves and work alongside us that would be great.

    Please refer to our calendar for availability.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is a double or single bedroom with separate shower and toilet facilities. We are a non-smoking household.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have several nice tracks close to our home which can be explored on foot or bicycle (available for loan) and it is a just ten minute bike ride to the coastal tracks, another 10 minutes will get you into city centre and to the lovely swimming beach at Caroline Bay. Mount Cook, Tekapo and the beautiful southern lakes are within two hours drive.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The green paddocks are our little farm viewed from the top of the hill. House to the far left behind the trees.
That's our home viewed from a local walkway which runs along the edge of the town.
A short cycle ride to the closest beach. This one's not for swimming but a little further on is a safe sandy beach (Caroline Bay) with cafes nearby. Be warned: our sea water is always cold!
The view from our front deck looking towards town. This is a great place for our morning coffee.
A couple of locals in our garden
Brent and Nicki - this photo taken on a visit to Mount Cook region which is about 2 hours away. Brent loves fishing and would be love to take you salmon fishing in the high country area.












Host ref number: 479113843851