1 / 5

Help our family with DIY projects on the banks of the Beaton River Valley, Canada

  • Favourited 19 times
  • Last activity: 14 Feb 2024



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    We are a family of nine living on the banks of the Beaton River in Fort St John, BC. With so many different lives and personalities (many of us are dreamers, visionaries, and leaders), there is always action happening on our 1/4 section. The land itself has ponds, a lake, pastures, trails and ravines, a field, gardens, hot tub, and a gorgeous view of the valley. In the summer we love growing fresh veggies and fruits for whoever happens to be hanging out at the ponds to enjoy.

    Family passions include Jesus and growing His Kingdom, hosting events (like prom dances, outdoor music festivals, mission impossible games), people and friends, and creating unique dining experiences for others to be encouraged. We enjoy work and creating and building but we also love to rest and play. As a family we fight, laugh, make mistakes, learn, and forgive. Life here on is full!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have lots to offer in your time off outside of work experience. We have a pond with a diving board and paddleboat, kayaks, canoe, and tubes for the rivers that are near us. We own quads and dirtbikes and Volkswagen’s. There are endless trails for hiking or mountain biking, camping, and adventures. Volleyball, baseball, bonfires, Mission Impossible, and air soft tournaments happen here all summer. If you'd prefer quieter, there are trails, swings, quiet nooks, and hideaway places. Horseback rides if you are experienced!

  • Help


    On a regular basis there is yard maintenance around our acreage and gardens including painting, staining, fixing, cleaning and organizing of outbuildings (boathouse, greenhouse, tack shed), ponds and gardens. We are in a constant cycle of mowing, trimming, raking, chainsawing, and watering! This summer we plan to do lots of tree planting. In house tasks include cleaning and occasionally food prep. With such a variety of activities happening here all the time we can accommodate people with all different skills! We do have a construction business that we run but our workawayers will not be asked to help with our business.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have a 3 bedroom suite with Wifi over our shop space about 500 ft away from the main house. It has a gym, a livingroom, kitchen, and bathroom. Its quiet and a nice place to rest. Occasionally we have guests or an instructor who stays there as well. You would be responsible for your own breakfast making (and possibly lunch) although we would purchase food according to your preferences. Dinner would be with the family most of the time. Suite rules include no pets, no smoking, no drugs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Fort St John (7 min drive) is small but has great people and some fun coffee shops. We are near the mountains and there is always adventures for the outdoor enthusiast.
    Our expectations for anyone coming to work and play with us would be honesty, willingness to learn new things, and you must enjoy kids :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Any size :)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 478771364125