Help on a Farm in beautiful Cornwall, South West England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 418 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/07/2019

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Laura and my family and I live in a rural small holding between the historic towns of Falmouth and Helston on the beautiful west coast of Cornwall. Our five bedroom, three bathroom house stands in its own grounds with farms either side of us. Some of our leisure time is spent gig rowing on the waters of the Helford River. Our children are involved in our local surf lifesaving club and enjoy surfing on the south coast. We very much enjoy the outdoor lifestyle Cornwall has to offer and have lived here for the past 17 years renovating our farmhouse, but still have much to do. We have chickens year round, as well as pigs at certain times of the year. Our local village Constantine has a very active community arts centre, where I often volunteer.

    James spends part of every week working elsewhere in the UK or in Europe. I work for the NHS in Childrens' Community Services. We have three teenagers, one of which is away at University. As a family we're all willing to improve on our languages but do only speak English fluently.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    We are ideally looking for workaways who are able to help with general maintenance around the house, gardens and out buildings, 5 days a week. In particular, painting walls and field maintenance including coppicing, hedge-trimming, fencing and tree planting. We also have a vegetable patch in need of some attention. Skills not required but willingness to get involved .

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have space for a couple in a double bedroom with shared bathroom. Depending on the time of year we would also have another double bedroom available. We eat a varied diet of locally sourced food where possible, and seasonal vegetables from our garden. Any helpers would be welcome to join us at meals time in this busy household , help with
    Meal preparation or cook your own meals. We generally all eat together in the evenings. Breakfast : help yourself to cereals , toast fruit yogurt , cooked tradition English breakfast at the weekends .
    Lunch : soup , bread cheese etc
    Supper : varied family meals , lots of vegetables, salads fish etc

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are public transport links all over the county. Train stations in nearby Falmouth and Penryn link to Truro, the capital. All major aiports in the UK fly to Newquay airport, around 40minute drive away and we would be available to pick up if necessary. There are local buses which go from our village, Constantine, to all towns in our area. We also have bikes which you would be free to use. Because of our rural locality your own transport would be ideal though, particularly if you want to explore more of our beautiful county.
    We are not far from the maritine port of Falmouth with beautiful marina and museum and all kinds of boating , interesting shops bars and cafes .Falmouth has a vibrant student life as it is university town .
    Truro is a cathedral city which has transport links across the county .
    You could also visit the Eden Project which is approx 1 hr away .
    The north coast town of St Ives is
    Very beautiful and has inspired artists for generations , you can visit many art galleries and the Tate modern here . 40 mins drive .
    Travelling around Cornwall independently is very safe , but more fun with a companion .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5







Host ref number: 477877737337