Join our off-grid, self sufficient family in Eudunda, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We're a family of five. I'm Debbie, my husband is Anthony, our three kids are aged 11, 10 and 3. In 2016 we sold our house in Adelaide and moved to Eudunda to live an off-grid, self sufficient lifestyle. We live on 3 acres of land in the lower mid-north (1.5 hours north of Adelaide, half way between the famous wine regions of the Barossa Valley and Clare Valley), currently in a comfortable 'shed' while we begin work on restoring the old homestead on our property. We currently live off-grid and aim grow all of the fresh produce we consume.

    We love to live a low-impact, natural lifestyle by reducing our plastic use and being mindful of our impact on the environment. We do meat, but prefer to fill our diet with fresh veggies, fruit and wholefoods.

    The property has some old mulberry and pear trees and since moving here we've added to the orchard. Stone fruits grow really well due to the hot summers and frosty winters.

    We're active members of the community. Anthony is a volunteer firefighters in the Country Fire Service (CFS), I am an elected member of our local Council.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love to travel. So will encourage Workaways from all parts of the world to stay with us, to teach us all about their cultures, food, living, stories, and language. We hope that we can show Workawayers a different part of the world and enjoy living with 5 easy going Aussies.

  • Help

    Help

    We've started renovating the old homestead on our property so are looking to host people that have construction skills or are willing to help out. Anthony is taking leave for 10 weeks to get the construction moving.

    We also have a few smaller building projects that we'd like to move ahead with too, so the ability or willingness to take part in building/eco-building/carpentry work is preferable.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a two-berth (double bed) self contained (except toilet) caravan for accommodation. But, Workawayers are welcome to used our ensuite bathroom inside during the day. There is also a plumbed outhouse (outside toilet) for the Workwayers to use at night. The living and kitchen areas are open to the Workawayers to use. We also have tents. So if there are additional visitors, they are welcome to sleep outside.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Depending on availability, we can pick up Workawayers from Adelaide, Adelaide Airport, Gawler Railway Station or other location. We can also drop off at the end of their stay.

    The local township is a 5 min drive (30 min walk) away and has most facilities (shops, pubs, doctors, pharmacy, op-shops, library). No public transport is available.

    Both the Barossa (30min drive) and Clare Valley's (50min drive) are not too far away for those who love wine. The Riverland is in easy reach, too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    The property is very open and the surrounding paddocks have sheep. We also have a dog.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 477818619967