Come to beautiful Victoria BC - Currently looking for people with gardening and home maintainance, inluding small building projects.

  • Favourited 283 times
  • Last activity: 23 Feb 2024



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    Victoria is a little paradise on Vancouver Island in British Columbia on the west coast of Canada. Known for its temperate climate, beautiful summers and mild winders, it is a short ferry ride to Vancouver, BC and Washington state in the US. We (Greg and Ingrid) live about 20 minutes outside of downtown Victoria. Our home is in a suburban residential neighbourhood but we are minutes away from the ocean, great shopping and restaurants, outdoor adventures and one of the most beautiful cities in Canada. There is so much to do in the area - you'll never run out of beautiful places to go and experience. World famous Butchart Gardens, a gorgeous downtown harbour, museums, galleries, shops and cafes, beaches, mountains, trails and more!

    We look forward to meeting you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We provide lots of suggestions for places to go and things to see in the area. We enjoy talking and learning about our guests - where they live and how things are different in their country. We are close to bus routes and are happy to provide transportation to and from buses when necessary. We are also close to the Trans Canada Highway that goes up the Island, for travellers who may want to see other parts of Vancouver Island. We enjoy interacting with our guests and learning about their cultures and experiences.

  • Help


    We are currently looking for someone who can come and stay with us to help with gardening, outdoor painting, and some small household building projects. If you love to work in the garden and have some experience with home improvement projects please contact us.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    1 bedroom with a queen bed, kitchen and bathroom in the lower floor of the home. While the suite is private to the rest of the home, it does attach to an open space home office that is used daily by the host. Laundry is available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 5 minutes from the beach in one direction and great shopping in the other; 20 minutes from downtown Victoria, and close to the trans Canada Highway for travelling up the Island. Lots of trails and hiking nearby, and also close to a lake for fishing, swimming and small boating. We love to meet people from different places, and Ingrid loves to cook so look forward to some amazing meals. We have a lovely large deck and gazebo for lazy evenings and enjoy sharing fabulous espresso, good food and great wine. We also live with an adorable small dog - so if you have pet allergies, you may want to consider that. We would hope that while you're here, you'd be part of our daily life. We would love to share with you all our favourite places and can sometimes provide transportation to various local destinations. We are not super early risers - so feel free to sleep in a bit. We can't wait to meet you and look forward to your expertise turning our home and yard into an oasis!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 476936437491

Feedback (10)



Love cooking, healthy living and nature? Come and join us in the Yukon, Canada!
Learn about forestry and hardscaping, helping us to get our home and land ready in Maple Ridge, Canada