Join my small animal sanctuary, care for my rescue animals and organic plants in the beautiful São Vicente do Paul, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 150 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Paula, I live in a beautiful sanctuary farm in Santarem, in a very quiet area of Portugal called Ribatejo, full of traditions and an amazing countryside. My family is big in non-human animals I have 2 mares, 2 steers, 2 goats, 3 chickens and a rooster, 6 dogs and many many cats - they all have been rescued from terrible situations. My biggest treasure are my animals, so the person who chooses to come and help me will need to love them and help me care for them.
    I have a small organic garden and a small greenhouse where I have some edible plants and which I would love to see grow in size if someone interested in gardening would like to help.

    I work all day in the city so the helper(s) would be by themselves in the farm.
    Another important point is that I'm vegetarian, so I will welcome everyone that comes to the farm with lots of veggie food :)
    I love to learn form other cultures, meeting new people and share conversations and ideas.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to know the Portuguese country life, learn new things and share experiences.

  • Help

    Help

    I would like to welcome people who are willing to truly help maintain the project, that are hard workers and who like and respect animals. It would be very helpful to have people who have some construction skills, to repair minor things, and people who have skills in organic farming to hep maintain the garden and the greenhouse.
    But most of all you need to enjoy living in the countryside as you won't be able to visit the city very often as the project is located in a village.
    Also I remind all helpers that I will only provide vegetarian food, and will not buy any animal products.

  • Languages spoken

    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a whole compartment of the house for the helpers, with shared room area where two can sleep separately, or together for a couple, as there are 2 double beds, with exclusive bathroom with toilet.
    Kitchen area will be shared between all of us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our volunteers will enjoy endless peace here, and will be able to enjoy the countryside, ride on the bicycle, enjoy the company of amazing animals that will only give you love. If you would like to visit the city I will take you to the train station, or take you to the city if needed.
    The whole farm has internet connection.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 469727196968