Help with my son and around our home a beautiful cottage outside Dingle town, Ireland



Favourited 150 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    I'm an artist who works in photography and film and live with my 10 year old son and our lovely dog, a brittany spaniel, in a beautiful three bedroom mountainside cottage outside Dingle town near Ballydavid. We're on 1 acre overlooking Mt Brandon. It's 5 minutes from beautiful beaches (which we make a lot of use of!). We are both very into the outdoors so we make the most of the setting we live in. Loic is in forth class in the local school. He speaks English French and Irish! I'm interesting in eating healthy food and really enjoy yoga!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The location is stunning. We like to have a healthy lifestyle so like minded people would benefit! The house is full of beautiful photography and art books. My son is great fun and a really active boy so being tuned in to that would be essential! I'm an internationally recognised artist and am happy to share my experiences - although the actual work I require of a work-away does not involve being artistic.

  • Help


    I'd be particularly interested in someone who has some experience with being with children and is good natured and easy to be around! My son has dyslexia so someone who has experience in helping with kids in this area would be a plus. In general I'm looking for some help around the house/ garden that would vary from day to day. I would especially like help with cooking a cleaning. I like to eat a healthy organic diet so an interest in that would be good (but not necessary!!). Driving would be essential as it's a rural setting. And of course juggling a 10 year old and a dog with being a busy working Mom can involve a lot of multi tasking! So I would need someone who is quite flexible and also capable to doing some of the above. As the bedrooms are small I can only accommodate ONE person not two. I'm looking for preferably female applicants only :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    Beautifully renovated 100 year old stone cottage on 1 acre of land, overlooking Mt Brandon. It's open plan living-room/ kitchen area with wood burning stove/ TV etc. There's a large dining area off this with large windows with beautiful mountain and garden views. There are three bedrooms upstairs, two double, one single. There are two bathrooms. The house is 7 minutes drive from Dingle town, so being able to drive is essential (and having a valid driving llicense). There is internet access (wifi). No smokers please.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Dingle Peninsula is one of the most beautiful spectacular regions in Ireland. The town is very lively with lots of great resturants, cafes, pubs etc. If you are into outdoor life and participating in a busy (but small) creative family, it should be an enjoyable experience.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours max 25 hours a week

Host ref number: 464444982379