updated   Last minute

Little family with an Edible forest and a participative and coopérative grocery store in Mons, Belgium

  • Favourited 617 times
  • Last activity: 20 Apr 2024



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    We are a couple of Montois and we have a little girl since March '18. We are passionate about nature. We have just one chicken freedoom in our garden. We have three initiatives: : the first is a organic field of 25 ares, a second one consist of the realization of an edible forest on a field of 2 hectares and a third, a participatory grocery in the city center of Mons.

    Nous sommes un couple de Montois et avons une petite fille depuis 2018. Nous sommes passionnés par la nature. Nous avons 6 poules en liberté dans notre jardin. Nous avons trois initiatives : un première en maraîchage permaculture Bio sur un champ de 25 ares, une deuxième qui consiste en la réalisation d'une forêt comestible sur une parcelle de 2 hectares et une troisième, une épicerie participative et coopérative dans le centre ville de Mons.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Besides all you can learn through the different projects, we will be delighted to introduce you to our city and our region. We love to visit the city. We are also used to hosting! Meeting other lifestyles is very interesting and it also shows us that we are not so different. At home, I work a lot with homemade products whether for home maintenance or for body hygiene. I love the essential oils.
    It will be a pleasure to tell you about it.
    When we welcome, we like sharing meals, it is also a moment of exchange and discovery.


    Outre tout ce que vous pourrez apprendre à travers les différents projets, nous serons ravis de vous faire découvrir notre ville et notre région. Nous adorons faire visiter la ville. Rencontrer d'autre modes de vie est très intéressant et cela nous montre aussi que nous ne sommes pas si différents. A la maison, je travaille beaucoup avec des produits fait maison que ce soit pour l'entretien de la maison que pour l’hygiène du corps. Sylvie aime beaucoup les huiles essentielles. Ce sera un plaisir de vous en parler.
    Lorsque nous accueillons, nous aimons partager les repas, c'est aussi un moment d'échange et de découverte. Les végétariens et vegan sont les bienvenues même si nous ne le sommes pas.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We need help on the one hand on the field in bio of 25 ares (preparation of plots, crops, sowing, transplanting, tree planting, as well as completion of the greenhouse (it remains the roof) A pool and a spiral of permaculture, etc.).

    On the plot of 2 hectares (garden forest), this year it is a question of creating a labyrinth in a forest. A first path has already been realized. We started to grow tomatoes and other vegetables along the way. Perhaps it will be possible to realize this year (or next year) a large natural pond. A tree planting will also be able to do in autumn.

    We will be happy to welcome you and share all of this with you: We see these three projects in a collective form. Doing that just two does not make any sense. We want to move towards a just social economy and that everyone can find their place in the various projects. We want to keep pace with each other and nature. Running after time and money is not in our philosophy. We want to share, exchange and live together with the citizens of the world. We are still at the very beginning and a lot of things have to be put in place, but we hope that it works.


    Nous avons besoin d'aide d'une part sur le champ en bio de 25 ares (préparation de parcelles, récoltes, semis, repiquages, plantation d'arbres, ainsi que finition de la serre, création de mandala et d'une spirale de la permaculture, etc.).

    Sur la parcelle de 2 hectares (forêt jardin) , il s'agit pour cette année de réaliser un labyrinthe dans un roncier. Un premier chemin a déjà été réalisé. Nous avons commencé à cultiver des tomates et autres légumes le long du chemin. Peut-être sera-t-il possible de réaliser cette année (ou l'année prochaine) un grande mare naturelle. Une plantation d'arbre pourra aussi de faire en automne.

    Nous serons heureux de vous accueillir et partager tout cela avec vous: Nous voyons ces trois initiatives sous forme collective. Faire cela rien qu'à deux n'a aucun sens. Nous souhaitons aller vers une économie circulaire juste et que chaque personne puisse trouver sa place au sein des divers initiatives. Nous voulons suivre le rythme de chacun et de la nature. Courir après le temps et l'argent n'est pas dans notre philosophie. Nous voulons partager, échanger et vivre ensemble avec les citoyens du monde. Nous sommes encore au tout début et beaucoup de choses doivent être mises en place, mais nous avons l'espoir que ça fonctionne. Nous recherchons des personnes avec une relative autonomie.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    French: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    Dutch: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We have a guest bedroom with a bed clic clac where you will have your privacy. Our bathroom is at your disposal.

    Nous avons une chambre d'amis avec un lit clic clac où vous aurez votre intimité. Notre salle de bain est mise à votre disposition ainsi que des WC.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We're starting to have quite a bit of experience with the workaway.
    We have been doing Workaway now since 2017!


    Nous commençons à avoir pas mal d'expérience avec le workaway.
    Nous faisons maintenant du Workaway depuis 2017 !

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Welcome ! Oui bien sûr !

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 heures par jour max, 5 j/semaine

Host ref number: 461686332476

Feedback (64)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)

Big house and garden keen to welcome positive travel vibes and some help in the Sonian Forest, Belgium
Polyculture farm and permaculture and agroecology training centre on the edge of Luxembourg, Belgium