Want to have home away from home, with home cooked meals and real family vibe, Queensland, Australia?

Country

Australia

updated   Last minute

Favourited 266 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    33  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    280

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Availability in OCTOBER! Email us today to secure your spot!

    Let me know if you would like to join us, the days are stunning and its cosy in the evenings!

    Spring time is upon us which means exciting projects!

    Want to watch some chicks hatch?? We are putting some in and they are ready to go in your area! The only catch is you have to play and care for them... oh how hard is that?!

    We treat all our workawayers like family, if you like good food and a family fun environment then we are the people to come see!

    Ideally we are looking for people that love an adventure a new family and to help us with our little piece of paradise. In return you will have a home away from home and experience the true Australian dream. We are quite relaxed so as long as the work gets done and everyone is smiling then we are happY!

    Lemon trees have been planted :) more to graft, lime trees to be grafted and planted (we would love for you to sit down and learn with Dan!, more stone paths to make, heaps of picking and gardening and other projects. Give us a message we would love for you to make our farm your home away from home! We have an above ground pool now!!! YAY

    Minimum stay 3 weeks for as long as you love it! *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ There is only a minimum due to the first week always being more about easing you into our family and getting to know each other and if you are only here for a small amount of time we probably wont get the time to go to the beach etc :P

    PLEASE NO CIGARETTE SMOKERS - we have young children it is no good for their health and fires can be risky here

    A bit about us:

    We always have projects on, All ideas welcome!


    This is a help exchange role, to help travelling people enjoy Australia without having to break the bank.

    In exchange for 25hrs help per week, we will provide accommodation / meals and some experiences (welcome to join us on family adventures or take the weekend off and go exploring) You will need transport to get around although we can drop you off on our way to somewhere or take you to the train station if you want to travel somewhere for a few days.

    We are a family of 6, mother, father and 2 school aged children and 2 x 2 year old twin girls. We are looking for help around the house and farm and helping with the girls, playing, changing nappies, feeding and just having fun with the littlest ones. We are not looking for party people around our children, we do enjoy hanging out and having a beer!

    What will we do???

    Mondays are picking days , tuesday is packing and Wednesday is delivery days which we rotate week to week so its fair!

    Our previous backpackers have been awesome and you are welcome to chat to them just ask and I can direct you:

    Daniel and Ellen (18 year old cousins from Germany) From October 2016 - November 2016
    Marrit and Mathias (26 year old couple from Denmark and Holland) December 2016 - January 2017
    Anki - (From Findland 28 year old traveller) February - March 2017 and Back again in October 2017
    Amanda and Will (28 year old Couple from the UK) - March 2017 - April 2017 then back again in July 2017
    James and Aimee ( Couple from the UK) May 2017
    Julie and Mich (26 years old Couple from USA and Germany ) September to October 2017
    Lina (19 year old from Germany) November to January 2018 - Primary role was with the children.
    Marie and Celine (18 year olds from Germany) December to January 2018
    Kailey and Caden (18 year old couple from USA) February to March 2018
    Ronald and Rince (31 and 29 year old couple from Holland) March to April 2018
    Maja and Sarah (Sisters from Germany) April to May 2018
    Mason and Lissy (English and German *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️casual not couple :P ) May to June 2018
    Ivo (German DJ) June 2018
    Enna (18 year old American) July 2018
    Cat and Joe (21 and 20 year old girls from Denmark) July 2018 - August 2018
    Alina and Leonie (18 year olds from Austria (September - 26th September)
    Ander From France (September to October 2018)
    Wojciech from Poland (October 2018)
    Hillary and Lewis from Scotland and America (October to November 2018)
    Karo and Daniel from south africa and germany (November to January)
    Conor from the UK (January to February 2019)
    Cooper and Casey from America (January to March 2019)
    Lisa and Sandrina from Germany (March to April2019)
    Ada from Germany (April to May 2019)
    Annika and Lisa from Germany (May to June 2019)
    Maelle 12th July to 21st August
    Ada (BACK AGAIN!!! SHE NEVER LEAVES hahahaa) I wont give her an end date as she is furniture at this point :)
    Anne and Coen (19th September to October 2nd)
    Yvette and Raquelle November
    Pablo and Lucía (21st November - January 2020)


    Its been such an adventure having our new family members stay from around the world, experience our life as it comes and see what goes into our little patch of Australia and our children just love the different cultures!


    What is here?

    95 acres of land (mainly native bushland)
    2 beautiful friendly dogs
    1 cat (Name is sourcream)
    23 chickens (getting more soon)
    3 Roosters
    1 pony (very old girl she just wonders around)
    500 lime trees
    250 lemon trees
    15 mango trees
    1 Vegepatch (in progress)
    3 Herb gardens
    1 greenhouse with over 1000 grafted trees and seedlings
    1 Granny flat where Kira's grandmother lives (she has Alzheimers and can be a little hard to understand but she means well.
    4 dams
    2 school kids
    twin toddler girls
    and a very friendly farmer with his wife (in our mid 30s)

    You will learn a bit and our days start at a normal hour, we work to our own pace. If you want to travel or do day trips we can work around this with notice, we are very cruisy and enjoy our days as this is a lifestyle. We do deliveries to noosa, caloundra, coolum, mooloobah and maroochydore weekly so you will see the coast. If you want to stay in any of these towns we can direct you to some places and drop you off on our runs.

    We have a few workawayers which have made the Herlaar farm their base in Australia while travelling. Accommodation is a converted large shed, with insulation, fans, television, fridge, pool table and a queen bed and 1 single bed. We are looking to purchase some caravans and make the live out more of a rumpus room (in the pipeline).Stays from 3 weeks - 6 weeks is preferable although we do prefer a longer stay, we can play it by ear if this is an interim stay.

    If you have guitar experience we would be stoked as Dan is learning to play and Kira loves to sing!

    Please message us if this sounds suitable so we can discuss further

    Cheers Daniel and Kira

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn all there is to do with Lime / lemon Farming.
    We are a busy young family who love our lifestyle we have worked hard to get to this point and really enjoy the farm and enjoy having people stay from all over so we and our kids can get to know people from all over the world!

    We only use spray on the grass everything else is natural fertilisers.

    We also are happy for our travellers to join us to the beach and camping!

  • Help

    Help

    Hanging with the family, helping with twin toddlers, gardening, picking limes and learning all there is here. Deliveries to coastal towns once a week.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A converted Shed, with pool table, television, fridge and a couch.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    rainbow beach is not far away and being summery we will be doing deliveries to sunshine coast weekly!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






















Host ref number: 926274485846