updated   Last minute

Help us grow our eco farm in Castellterçol, Spain

  • Favourited 340 times
  • Last activity: 18 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Family project in a Masia (farm house) from the XV century, in which we have lived for more than 18 years in attunement with nature and its cycles.
    The house is totally off-grid!!!
    We have bio vegetable gardens, in permaculture way.
    We also have farm animals like hens, geese, turkeys, peacocks, 3 friendly dogs and some cats!
    We make a sustainable management of the forest, taking advantage of the firewood, resins and medicinal plants it provides.
    We do soaps and natural cosmetics for own consumption.
    Personal development activities are carried out in the house throughout the year ( we love Temaskales).
    The House is near Castellterçol 65km away from Barcelona. (1,15h by bus from Bcn)

    Why is good for volunteers ...?
    - Surrounded by forests and mountains.
    - Perfect for trekking and climbing lovers.
    - Without villages in sight, or electric lines!
    - Without air, sound or light pollution.
    - Perfect for stargazing.
    - Fireplace in the house.
    - Biopool
    - Get in contact with nature elements.
    - Drinkable spring water available.
    - Family and alternative self development environment.
    - Multi-Cultural environment
    - Personal Growth activities.
    - Temazcal.
    - River and lake nearby (5km away)
    - Climbing spots nearby.
    - Own grown vegetables, We love good Food!!!!

    1 MONTH MINIMUM STAY REQUIRED!

    Proyecto Familiar en una Masia del siglo XIV en la cual vivimos desde hace más de 18 años en síntonia con la naturaleza y sus ciclos.
    Totalmente off-grid
    Tenemos una huerta bio.
    Tenemos gallinas, ocas, pavos, perros y gatos. Y todos conviven en armonia!!!
    Hacemos un manejo sustentable del bosque, aprovechando la leña y las plantas medicinales que provee.
    Realizamos actividades de crecimiento personal.
    La Casa está cerca de Castellterçol. A 70 km de Barcelona. ( 1,20 h en bus desde Bcn)

    Por que bueno para los voluntarios...?
    -Rodeado de bosques y montañas
    -Sin pueblos a la vista,ni redes eléctricas.
    -Sin contaminación
    -Chimenea en la casa
    -Piscina Natural
    -Ambiente familiar y alternativo policultural. Siempre hay gente interesante en la casa.
    -Actividades de crecimiento personal.
    -Temazcal
    -Rio y lago cerca(5km)
    -Nos gusta la buena comida!!!

    ESTADIA MÍNIMA DE 1 MÊS!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about:
    - Spanish and Catalan, English also spoken in the house (as we are quite international)
    - Bioconstruction and general maintenance of an off-grid house.
    - Forest management.
    - Vegetarian cuisine mostly (we do eat game sometimes and home roosters)
    - Edible vegetable garden, Permaculture ways.
    - Medicinal plants and 'ethnobotanical', extracts and distillates.
    - Cosmetics Production (soap, shampoo, creams, extracts, tooth paste, oinments,etc)
    - Life-changing experiences through personal growth workshops.
    - Sustainable living.

  • Help

    Help

    Right now we are needing:
    - Handy boy, with construction, maintenance or carpentry skills.
    Preferably able to handle power tools.
    Dry stone walls reconstruction and various
    Woodwork projects on going.
    - Yoga or stretching teacher or advance practitioner. Or fitness trainer.
    - massage therapist

  • Languages spoken

    Catalan: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Shared rooms in the house. We have 3 rooms for volunteers, to share when there is more than 3. Also our side camp facilities, if wanted, with all the needs included (tent, mattress and bedding).

    All meals included

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The surroundings of the house are ideal for trekking lovers and walks in the woods.
    Also the lake near by is good for swimming.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We are plenty of space for any size campervans, with camping facilities!!!

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Pet are welcome if they have a proper behaviour with our pets and with poultry.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 459581672862

Feedback (31)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


































Helping hands with woodwork/gardening/painting in Fuerteventura, Spain
Help a small organisation for adults with intellectual disabilities in Xinzo de Limia, Galicia, Spain