Help us build a small self-sufficient farm on the North Shore of St-Laurent river, Ragueneau, Quebec, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 5 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/04/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This year we're starting a big garden. We have a lot of diy projects, so if you like to do manual tasks and entertain the idea of starting your own 'farm' someday, you might be interested. We are not a business, the goal of the project is to live sustainably, and using as mich recycled material as possible. If you're interested in building your own nomadic house, it'll be a pleasure to help you in the process. If you just want to paint a mural, we have the wall for it.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Helpers can learn basic skills like building yurts, tipees and chooms. We'll aslo make bricks, build a cob greenhouse and make rockets stoves. If the time allows it we'll also build diy wind turbines. We'll also be experimenting with gardening techniques, so there's a lot of everything. If you have suggestions, we're all ears

  • Help

    Help

    This is the first year for our small farm and we need help setting up a greenhouse, tending to the crops and chicken. You can also participate in a murale. If you have projects you want to try out, let us know. If you want to learn how to make a 50$ yurt, I can show you aswell

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There's running water, dry toilet, wifi hotspot and frequent campfires. If you have your own van or tent it's perfect, if not we have a tipee for you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Ragueneau is a small township near Baie-Comeau, there's a lot of forest trails, Pointe-Lebel (15 min away) has stunning beaches, and we have a tandem kayak free of use. There's a convenience store 5min away, but if you want to move around it's much easier with a car. If you don't have one you can use ours

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There's solar panels to charge your stuff and we have a wifi hotspot if you need it, but we can't host twitch streams

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can host small vans and campers, but we can't accommodate the 'heavy-calibre' adventurers. If you have a 5-1/2 wenebago, we'll have to turn you down

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We already have a dog, she's chill with other dogs. We have chickens but they spend most of their time in the coop

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Minimum 2 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 456636389622