Experience a rural lifestyle with a Kiwi family, near Kerikeri NZ



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    I have a 170 acre hobby farm with 100 acres of native bush. Our farm is mostly organic, I have 4 kids part time and lots of animals, and we love living in the Far North on our beautiful property.
    There is always lots going on but we have heaps of space here, with bush/farm trails to explore and a large separate room 0a little away from the main house, so there is also lots of scope for privacy and contemplation!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience a rural lifestyle with a Kiwi family.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We have heaps to do here as we have large organic vegetable gardens, fruit trees & animals. We have 8 dogs plus sometimes litters of puppies to care for. There is housework and maintainance, often small renovations, a heap of firewood to move & cut, fruit and veges to harvest, bottle etc, various projects, as well as of course doing stuff with the kids (kid & dog friendly is a must here) and generally having a good time. Your work will depend on what is happening when you arrive!

    I would particularly like to host anyone that has carpentry skills, lumberjack skills, farm skills such as fencing, painting/renovation experience, someone experienced in dog care, training or management, or anyone hardworking, strong and fit that is happy to do some of the general maintenance work around the farm. Or a love of housework!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    A private, large comfortable room a wee bit away from the main house. All meals included.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live half an hour from Kerikeri, 15 mins from Okaihau (our nearest town). I can pick up from the bus in Kerikeri or from Okaihau. I often know in advance which days we are coming into town so check before you book your bus. There are many beautiful spots around here - rivers, waterfalls, forests, walking tracks, the Hokianga Harbour is only 5 minutes drive down the road. Amazing beaches Paihia and Opononi only 45 minutes away. We are very close to one end of the Twin Coast Cycle Trail, which passes right by us and takes you to the Hokianga Harbour, as well as going all the way to the Bay of Islands.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have very good cellphone/data reception on most phones (weirdly some phones get nothing). The bedroom is away from the house and has a wired (ethernet) internet connection and a computer. Our internet connection has unlimited data and is good speeds for working.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Plenty of space!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours per day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 456483158121

Feedback (32)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Learn about permaculture at our property in Tauranga, New Zealand
Learn about sustainable living, ecology and conservation near Thames, New Zealand