Animal care and painting help wanted in Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/10/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple who lives in Whitehorse, Yukon with our dog, cat and chickens. We are looking for help from June 24 - July 8 : petsitting, gardening and painting.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    - Get a glimpse of the local life in the North
    - Get tons of local advice for your travels in Yukon/Alaska
    - Learn about chicken keeping
    - Stay close to downtown (practical if you don't have a vehicle)
    - Explore the tourist attractions during your stay in Whitehorse (learn about the Klondike Gold Rush, First Nations history of Canada, natural history of the Beringia strait, etc.)

    Whitehorse is a fun town with lots of tourist attractions, a few micro-breweries, interesting museums and mountains all around. It is the perfect basecamp for anyone who likes hiking, canoeing, etc.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a maximum of 4 hours of work/day in exchange for food and accomodation in Whitehorse (within city limits). Single person preferred, couple negociable.

    - Garden maintenance (every other day) :
    We have a small garden that needs to be looked after.

    - Petsitting :
    Everyday : feeding and walking the dog, cleaning the kitty litterbox, maintaining the chicken coop (pick-up droppings with a shovel), changing the water and picking up fresh eggs.
    Once about every 4-5 days : feeding the cat and the chickens.
    Our dog is a rescue dog who is very affectionate with humans, but doesn't like other dogs. He can't be left running off leach and needs a lot of exercise. If you aren't too comfortable around dogs, this won't be a good fit. We need someone who loves animals and is able to care for them.

    - Painting :
    Painting the deck and the fence (outside painting). If it's raining, we may have some painting to do inside.

    - House cleaning :
    We are expecting you to do basic house cleaning during your stay (swipe the floor, clean your dishes, clean the bathroom, water the plants, etc.)

    - Cooking :
    The first few days we will eat dinner together, then we will provide you with some food so you can cook your meals yourself. If you have any food preferences, please let us know. We don't have a microwave.

    - Other :
    If you have any special interest or talent, please let us know. Maybe you're a chef, a carpenter or a wood worker? We are open to discuss other projects.

    The work shouldn't take more than 4 hours/day. Most of the work is done outside, so you will need proper clothing. For certains tasks, the schedule can be flexible; You can work either in the morning or in the afternoon. However, the dog needs to be fed at a certain time everyday and the coop door needs to be opened every morning and closed every evening, therefore we need someone who can stay for the whole duration (2 weeks). You don't have to stay home all day during your day off, but the nature of the work requires you to not leave for more than a day, for example to go camping. You will have 2 days off per week, during which all you will have to do is check on the chickens and feed the dog (it takes about 10 min. total). With the midnight sun, you will have plenty of time to enjoy the rest of your day after you're done your work: go on day hikes, picnics near a Canyon, trail running, mountain biking, etc.

    We are looking for someone :
    - honest
    - reliable
    - active
    - who is available from June 24 - July 8 (dates are not flexible)
    - with a good sense of initiative, self-reliance and good judgement. If a problem arises, you will take action to solve it.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a bedroom in our house for you. There is a desk and a queen size bed. The bathroom is shared.

    The food will be provided but you will have to cook yourself - this way we can better accomodate your food preferences. We will be away for part of your stay so you have to be self-reliant.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live within walking distance to downtown and close to a bus stop. However, if you want to go hiking outside of Whitehorse, you will need your own car. There are walking/mountain biking trails close to our house (Mount MacIntyre), a disc golf course, grocery stores, a gym with a pool (Canada Games Centre), a baseball field, etc.

    Sorry, we can't accomodate any more pets and we prefer non smokers. We are looking for a single person; couples negociable.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week + feeding the dog and chickens on your days off

Our chickens
The newest members of the family
Our living room
Billy, our friendly and very chill cat
Miles Canyon, 10 minutes from home
Our dog Meeko makes for the best hiking companion
The room : king bed that can turn into a single if you want more space
This is us :)
Host ref number: 456462834216