Help with renovating an old country house surrounded by wildlife and rolling farmland in Kilkivan, QLD, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My mother and I are Renovating an old Queensland styal country house In a peaceful country town surrounded by beautiful bush full of Wildlife and rolling grass farmland. We are an hour from the beach and really close to the beautiful Fraser Coast. So lots of adventures to be had exploring on days off and afternoons after work.

    There are lots of opportunitys to learn life skills like carpentry, painting, and decor design. we do not require someone to be diverse in these things as I am experienced in such work and will be doing the majority myself. we are simply looking for assistance to help out with teas jobs. The correct training and safety would always be Paramount as we don't want anyone getting hurt.
    And if you were confident that you could help out and be trusted with mor renovation responsibility payment could be an option.
    Which we could discuss in private after contact.
    The more staple duties would be some light gardening, mowing the lawn,
    sanding and panting, watering trees and helping out moving things around to make the place tidy and holding things in place when I'm building.

    Culturally the exchange would be a true experience of Australia, getting to know locals exploring the Fraser Coast, lots of out door activates (like bush walking and camping) philosophy, music, books and food as it is the one true way to get to know a culture.

    We Allways have home cooked meals. If you're interested in cooking I have been a chef for 10 years, so daily cooking lessons (if you're interested) , and if you're not interested you just get to eat the food.

    There is no TV just books,
    musical instruments, fires, swinging hammocks, a bow and arrow for a bit of archery in the backyard,good conversations and Leroy the big lovable dog. Maybe some bonfires with some paganism thrown in there.

    We will provide you with three home cooked meals a day and the occasional beer or two.

    The accommodation is selective as we have a massive house with lots of bedrooms. So you will have your own room.
    The bathroom is old and soon to be renovated, but it is clean and the water is steaming hot and strong. You can even have a nice relaxing bath in the big bathtub before it gets replaced with a new shower. Then it's an outside tub with a fire under it.

    A good sense of humour will always get you into our hart's as we have a philosophy that life should be lived with l laughter and love.
    So if you want to see the true Australia and meet the locals, this we can provide!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to meet real local characters and see some amazing Australian bush land and wildlife. Also plenty of instruments to play and cooking lessons available or we would love to exchange recipes.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    Renovating old house sanding painting carpentry work and gardening.

    We will give you 3 delicious home cooked meals a day and even some fear few hard worker. I'm a qualified chef and my mother is an excellent Cook

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room and bed with lots of warm blankets the house is big and beautiful but under renovation.
    So half is a bit of a construction site.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 455187173184