Childcare/herbal help on a farm in Vancouver Island, Canada



Favourited 241 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment



 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description


    We are a family and friend who live on a beautiful community farm, nestled beneath Mt. Tzouhalem in the Cowichan Valley on Vancouver Island. There are beautiful gardens, chickens, cows, horses and amazing hiking trails in our backyard. Many events take place on the farm including the folk festival, concerts, meditation, yoga and 5- rhythm dance. Although it often feels like we are way off in the countryside, it is only a 7minute drive or 20minute bike ride to town. The Ocean, rivers and lake are all accessible!

    As a family, we love to be outdoors gardening, wildcrafting and connecting with nature. I (Megan) am a Medical herbalist. I have 2 children - 3.5year old twin boys named Eli and Ezra who are full of vital force and energy. We have a friend staying at the farm at times to help out, named Cody. Cody is a permaculture teacher, sustainable community builder, social enterprise developer, life coach, and event organizer. As a household we are passionate about nature, health, spirituality and whole foods. We eat organically, and as local as possible, so healthy meals will be served daily :)

    We will be needing help 4+ days of the week from 8am-5pm. Everything over the 5hours a day (the work trade for accommodation and food) you will be paid for your work or we can organize trades for herbal apprenticeship, workshops, social enterprise support on your own projects, wildcrafting medicine making, and more. We are looking for someone who has experience with children, is comfortable being alone with them for 8 hours, and can provide a conscious and connected way of exploring life with them in a safe and nourishing way.

    For the right people, there is space for some paid work for extra childcare hours, as well as connections in town to possible part time jobs or exchanges. We work in and help manage a co-working and wellness space, with options for those with offerings or service experience to work on percentage, and make money by doing what you love or holding space at reception, workshops, and more.

    We look forward to hearing from you :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a beautiful farm nestled in a beautiful little Valley on Vancouver Island. Through this exchange you will experience spending time with identical twin boys, farm life, amazing nature, music concerts and have daily exposure to herbal medicine harvesting and medicine making.

  • Help


    We are looking for easy going, openminded individuals who can help with childcare throughout the week (you will have weekends off). The children are 3 year old twin boys. They love to be outdoors and play around the farm. Ideally, we are looking for someone who has experience with childcare and feels comfortable being left alone for several hours at a time with the children.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    We live in a large 3 floor, 3 bedroom house. Depending on the time of year, you may have your own spacious bedroom or a big open loft space with a room divider shared with one other workaway. Contact us to discuss what options are best. 3 meals will be included each day, and all food will be as organic and as local as possible (some right off the land!).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On your time off, there is a great deal of nature to explore (rivers, ocean, lake) and a mountain to hike in the backyard. There are events that happen on the farm and in the community throughout the year, including music festivals, concerts, yoga, meditation, workshops, herbal teachings, and 5-rhythm dance. It is also only a short bike ride downtown.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 452218834713