Help around our traditional Azorean country farm in São Miguel, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 83 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Ali and Caz, a British couple living on the beautiful island of São Miguel, the largest island of the Azores. We live in an old traditional country house with 10,000 sqm of land that we are renovating. The estate has been neglected for several decades and we are working to re-establish its former glory. This is an eco project with the aim of preserving the traditional heritage and countryside for future generations.

    We have chickens and 6 pet dogs. We are native English speakers. Caz also speaks German, Spanish and Portuguese.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a traditional Azorean farming community and you will be able to see the way of life for our farmers here. The island is green and extremely fertile and travellers will be able to enjoy seeing trees, plants and flowers that are thriving, some of which are rare in other parts of the world. Life on the island is largely laid back and relatively stress free so if you usually live in a more high pressure environments, it can offer an opportunity for a reset. Azoreans are generally open, friendly and welcoming and love to chat with visitors, and find ways to communicate, whether you share a language in common or not.

    Our estate is over 100 years old and has traditional Azorean farm buildings. It is located in an area where the citrus trade thrived in the 19th century, and then went into decline when disease wiped out the fruit trees. We are reintroducing traditional citrus varieties onto our land.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help with clearing the land and preparing it for future use. As well as plants that need clearing, there is a lot of rubbish that has been dumped and needs to be removed. The tasks will be basic and physical. There is also the opportunity to help with painting buildings, fences and furniture. If you have carpentry skills, there are opportunities to use these to help with outdoor structures.

    We are also interested in help with videography and photography.

    If you wish, you can help with feeding the chickens and cleaning out their coop.

    If you like dogs, you are welcome to spend time with our dogs.

    We only accept 2 people who come together, either couples or friends, and commit to staying for 1 month +.

    We usually have a quick video chat together before confirming that the arrangements suit both sides.

    (Current as of June 2020) Under current arrangements you will need to undertake a COVID19 test on arrival at the airport. You will not be able to come to our accommodation until you have received negative test results (usually within 12 hours) and will need to make arrangements for your own accommodation while you await the test results.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a newly renovated cottage, separate from the main house where we live. This is where you would stay. It’s a traditional Azorean farmhouse building that we’ve just renovated and it’s got bags of character. It is open plan plus bathroom with rain shower, sink and WC. It is around 40 square metres and has a very comfortable king bed, living area, dining area and kitchenette. We can replace the king bed with 2 singles depending on needs. There is a view down to the sea from the living area.

    We will provide food for you to cook and eat yourselves in the kitchen facilities in the cottage.

    We have a large gin collection and we'll invite you to join us for a gin and tonic on some days, should you wish.

    The accommodation is strictly no smoking. If you are a smoker we are unable to accommodate you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many beautiful places to visit on the island. If you hire a car, you'll be able to see a lot in a short amount of time. We are a few minutes from a bus stop, and there are about 10 buses a day to and from the main town of Ponta Delgada. The journey takes about 15 minutes. Buses go to all over the island from Ponta Delgada. You can walk into Ponta Delgada in just over an hour.

    There is a popular beach down the hill - about 30 minutes walk. With the mild climate, the beach is a popular place to visit on a warm winter day.

    There are 2 small shops and 2 small cafes in the local village, a few minutes walk from our estate.

    There are no buses at night, so if you like to go out at night, you'll need to get a taxi - usually €10 each way. There are plenty of bars and restaurants in Ponta Delgada.

    We will invite you to join in activities that we run for tourists - currently forest bathing, gin tasting and sausage making.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Kitchen area of workawayer's accommodation
Living area of workawayer's accommodation
Bedroom area of workawayer's accommodation
Bathroom in workawayer's accommodation
Our estate
Part of the garden
Our field
The cottage - your accommodation

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 451366593489