Come and learn about gardening, canning, seed saving and beekeeping, helping on our property and farm in the Okanagan Valley, British Columbia

Country

Canada

Favourited 191 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/02/2018

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello wandering travelers!! my name is Michelle and I am an organic farmer running a 1 acre vegetable farm on my families property. We live the good life in one of the most beautiful regions in the country. Surrounded by vineyards but just a short bike to town on the historic kvr rail trail. Our house is always full of friends and family sharing meals, good wine, and lots of laughs. We love people and are big travelers so we are always keen to meet people and hear stories. This place is a little slice of paradise and we would love to share that with you!!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    We need help on our property, taking care of the garden and the chickens. The type of help needed really depends on the season. We can teach you about gardening, canning, seed saving, beekeeping, etc etc. but mostly, we can offer you a one of a kind experience. Our family is eccentric and we are always doing something new so there is plenty to take part in, but who knows what it will be next!!!! We are currently all booked up for the spring but we are looking for someone to stay from the end of july until mid-september.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a bit of japanese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the house. We have 2 spare bedrooms with their own bathroom. Although if you wish to sleep outside we won't stop you. There is plenty of room to set up a tent!!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is the okanagan, so there is massive amounts to do: hiking, biking, swimming, sunbathing, winery hopping. We are a ten minute bike ride to town/ 30 minute walk. We leave the property often so getting a ride is always possible. It is possible to take a few days off to visit the rockies, vancouver, etc. We are also not opposed to our volunteers getting part time jobs at local wineries etc to make some money while they stay.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 444749459386

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more