Help a family with 4 boys in the beautiful mountanous village Boëge, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 389 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    34  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi Volunteers, greetings! We are a family with two young boys and two teenagers age 8 to 15. They recently lost their Dad, my ex-partner for 16 years and we have just moved to this new area. There are many new changes in our lives. We need help to settle in and build a new life here.

    I am looking for someone trustworthy who can do child care, cook, and housework so I can organize our lives. We have just moved from Narbonne area where we lived 5 years there. I would like this person to have enough interaction and interests in our lives and have the understanding that things won't always be easy managing 4 boys (But not to say that we are not fun-loving family:)).

    We are a bilingual multicultural family (English and French) and hopefully more Chinese, Japanese (anime effect!), Russian, Spanish and German. Culture or Language exchange is a plus.

    The children are going to local schools. (Summer Vacation July - August, schedules will be different)
    On school days, you will need to walk the youngest one who is 8 to school and back. All the children are quite independent and lots of fun. They take turns to cook at night so don't stress too much about being a MasterChef but a great cook is always appreciated! We eat mostly plant-based foods so very little meats. So please take this into considerations.

    We are very close to Geneva (30 minutes) and Anncey (an hour). There are so many nice hiking trails and beautiful places to visit on your off time. You will not run out of ideas about where to go.

    Drop me a line if you have any question. Thank you in advance for your interest (No smokers please!).

    Warmest Regards to all of you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have traveled and lived in many different countries before. We can adapt to the language you would like to improve to communicate with you. We are very open people so you could feel at ease with us easily. (The boys are all very inquisitive and lively but need guidance in their lives. I hope you will participate in helping them seeing different cultures and outlook on life. And last but not least to witness the positive changes in them during your stay.)

  • Help

    Help

    The children are fluent in French, English and speak a little Chinese. I'm trying to get their Chinese back. Between all four of them, they are learning Russian, Spanish, German, Chinese. They would love to learn about other cultures and languages too! We have gotten a piano as a Christmas present but lessons are very expansive so they are just playing with it on their own. They would very much like someone who can play the piano or other instruments to show them how it's done correctly. (But this is not a must) . Summertime, the whole village is our playground, swimming, skateboarding, rollerblading, hiking, tennis, basketball, soccer to name a few. In the winter, they enjoy snowboarding and skiing so if you could accompany them to these activities, it's definitely a plus! They love anime and video games of course. So if you know a lot about these, they'd be happy to have some exchange of ideas (but currently there is no video game allowed at home). They are also very creative. If you are good with hands-on projects, writing stories, making music with the computer, origami or any kind of special talent that you have they would enjoy learning from you. They enjoy having someone to play and interact with them very much. I've started teaching kids how to cook on their own a few years ago but we definitely welcome someone who can improve our cooking/baking skills :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, and Chinese.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a spacious three-story village house. There is a room designated for you (sometimes shared with another workawayer if there are two) You will have wifi to stay connected.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located less than 30Kms from Geneva, 35-40 minutes from Lake Leman (There are many beautiful towns along the lake like Thonon-les-bains, Evian-les-bains, Excenevez, Yvoire. We are lucky enough to be surrounded by the endless amount of trails to hike in the summertime and plenty of reasonably-priced ski hills in the winter. If you love nature, this is definitely a paradise for you. Of course, there is Geneva right next door and Italy being 2.5 hours away also. We encourage you to take your off-days to explore what the beautiful region has to offer. I hope that you will have a chance to visit this part of France one day.

    À bientôt j'espère.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




















Host ref number: 442293846575