Gentle living in a stunning setting, gardening and DIY help in Auckland, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/07/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have been a veterinarian for 35 years and emigrated from the U.K. 15 years ago.

    I have a veterinary practice and home set in the beautiful countryside near clevedon, in Auckland. My 3 children are grown and the youngest just left to go to Uni. I have one very friendly, well behaved dog.

    The property is 5km outside town.....there is NO bus service or public transport. YOU WILL NEED YOUR OWN TRANSPORT. I am not able to take people without their own vehicle as I work full time and cannot ferry people around.

    The property is set in an acre of gardens planted with a mixture of native and European trees. There is a large vegetable garden which provides much of the vegetables we eat and a heated swimming pool available from September/October through to April/May.

    We are situated to the south of Auckland giving easy access to both pacific and Tasman beaches and many areas for tramping(bush walks). There is a train into downtown Auckland makes this ideally placed to appreciate everything New Zealand has to offer.

    I need help to maintain the beautiful gardens and run the main house.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the chance to enjoy the peaceful culture here and the absolutely breathtaking scenery, all in a mild climate that lends itself to exploring.

    As a non native myself I remain in awe of the beautiful country I now proudly call home

  • Help

    Help

    Firstly I want to make it clear that the property is out of town and is best suited to travellers with their own transport. I work full time and cannot transport people to and from town etc.

    I need help to maintain the beautiful gardens and run the house. There is the usual ongoing tasks of weeding etc but also I enjoy doing landscaping projects that may require additional help. Someone with DIY skills as there is ongoing renovation/ painting to the outside of the building. Some light housework and share the cooking would also be ideal. I would expect 4 hours a day for 5 days of any full week, although I am happy to combine days to give more task free days if required.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I follow a high fat/low carb (paleo type) diet but guests are welcome to eat as they wish. I will provide breakfast cereals and milk, salad and vegetables (some home grown) and various meats. We have fruit trees on the property which can be enjoyed in season.

    I have no problem with smokers as long as they smoke outside. Guests may also drink alcohol after work is over if they wish.

    A very pleasant double bedroom is provided with bathroom/shower and seperate wc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Local places of interest include the hunua ranges for tramping, the waitoma caves, the surfing beaches of kariotahi, the stunning coramandel peninsula, the hot pools of Miranda.

    Having your own transport is vital as public transport is very limiting and I work full time and cannot drive visitors around.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 439944636129