Painting, carpentry, beach cleanup and more in the island of Palawan, Philippines

Country

Philippines

Favourited 429 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! My name is Rex. I live on a private island off the coast of Coron, Palawan, Philippines. My grandfather bought the place. Passed to my Mom. And now, I take care of it. It used to be a family vacation place but after a typhoon destroyed most of the facilities on the island. It’s been neglected after that. So, I decided to make a project out of it.

    I moved here in 2017 from the city, originally to do organic farming. Later on, I realised that getting water to the island is not easy. I have to get some divers to lay out at a water line from my neighbouring island to here. Getting divers to build and maintain the water line is expensive in the long run. So, I decided to be a diver myself. I became a dive instructor on 2018 and decided to start off with a dive camp to fund for the projects.

    - The idea is to make the island self-sustaining, making everything affordable. An Eco-camp

    - A place for retreat and relaxation. Yoga / meditation camp. (I don't teach Yoga. Can't even barely touch my toes.)

    - And a dive camp. Specialising in dive training / skills catering to everyone even people who are too afraid of water. Without having to rush to finish the courses in a specific number of days with many other divers.

    Currently, there is a caretaker (couple) with me whose job is to take care of the maintenance and cleanliness around the the island. They make sure we have enough water, collecting drums of water from the neighbouring island to be pumped to our island as we don’t have fresh water for washing / shower here. Making sure that there are no trespassers and fishermen fishing around the island as I don’t allow fishing here.

    In total, it’s just 4 of us on the island. Plus 2 dogs (Megamouse and Unggoy) and a cat named Killer.

    • No roosters on the island! So, we can sleep soundly.

    • I don't have much references here but I do have a lot on other sites.

    • We already started renovations on the island. It's slowly taking shape but it's getting there.

    That’s some of the ideas I have for now. It’s been quite a challenge but then I love challenges. 🏴‍☠️

    Life's a garden. Dig it!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers will get to experience life on an isolated island. The resources here are very valuable as it’s very limited. I have some musical instruments on the island which I’m willing to share and teach. I’m a dive instructor by profession so I can also give out lessons.

  • Help

    Help

    Right now, we’re in need of volunteers who will help with the general maintenance of the island. Like painting, carpentry works and beach cleanup. Also, with promotion of the island thru social media networks. Basically, I’m just sharing the place to everyone so to help promote the place. Most of the work will go to beach clean up and sharing photos and comments on social media.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Tagalog: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As of the moment, our dorm rooms are being renovated. The rooms that I actually need help with. I have a four bedroom room.(four single beds) for the volunteers. Alternatively, pop-up tents on the beach. Complete with mattresses, pillows and sheets.

    We have a kitchen volunteers can use. We can all go shopping together and share for food. Or buy your own. I won’t be able to provide food at the moment as we just buy for our consumption as well.

    How to get to the island:

    As you have already read, this is a private island. And there are no public transportation to get here. You will have to rent a boat from Coron Town. This is the expensive option but you will be seated comfortably. :)

    The cheapest alternative is my with my boat. I can pick you up from Coron Town. You will just provide for the gasoline. However, I can only pick you up if the weather conditions are good. This is a more faster way to get to the island. :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have our own beach, best snorkeling places and from time to time, baby blacktip sharks around the island.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 1-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 439346712931