updated  

Looking for some help around the house, office and childminding near Killarney, Ireland

  • Favourited 188 times
  • Last activity: 24 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I am looking for a motivated enthusiastic young person who is interested in helping out with office work, light house work and who can mind our 6 year old boy a little bit. We are a very busy household. We need somebody who is very reliable and is able to multi task a bit. There could be a day with a bit of food preperation to do and light house work e. g. hoover the house and the next day the person might be needed for 2 hours in the office. We live in the country side just a 15 minutes drive from the busy tourist town Killarney.
    We live in a beautiful area near mountains, lakes and the sea. We are looking for somebody who can do light household chores e.g. hoovering the house, emptying the dishwasher, organizing drawers and cabinets, folding clothes and is very computer literate e. g. Word, outlook, Excel, social media. We also would like to have somebody who is very good with children as we would need you a little bit as a childminder as well. .
    The ideal person should be very active and in their twenties and have an interest in nature, sport, children, refurbishing, meal preparation, cooking, tyding, office work. He/She should be also open minded, flexible, reliable and non-smoker. Our son speaks very little German we would love to have a German workawayer. We do speak English during the evening time and the workawayer will have many opportunities to speak English but we would expect her/him to speak German to our son

    Most of the chores should be done between Monday and Saturday (we expect you to work 25 hours per week in total but you will be flexible otherwise) typical working hours could be from 08:30 - 11:30 am and 2 till 4 pm for childcare or 4 - 6 preparing a dinner. But we also expect flexibility around these hours.
    Help is needed on some weekends but not every weekend. We would like to discuss more during a zoom call.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in one of the most beautiful areas in the South West of Ireland. It is only a 15 minutes drive into the busy town center of Killarney with plenty of shops, boutiques, Pubs and Restaurants and many amazing Hotels (you will find some of the nicest hotels in Killarney) . You will have a bike to explore the area but we are going Killorglin or Killarney town quite a lot so you can come with us. We are surrounded by mountains and lakes. The 100 km² Killarney National Park is also nearby so there is plenty to do (Boat trips, Walking, Cycling, Hiking,). The beaches are only 20- 30 minutes drive away. Train Connections to Cork and Dublin are very good. You will not be bored here.
    There are many mountain walks near the country side home. Our area is not ideal for party people as there is no public transport in the night time to Killarney town.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The hours are on some days flexible as we have always lots to do. You would do most of the help in the morning and afternoon. As we are working a lot on some days we are looking for somebody who is enthusiastic, interested in sports and office work and who loves children.
    It would be great if you could help with the day to day tasks like cooking dinners, baking, tyding up the kitchen, preparing snacks or small meals, tidying and organizing. We like to eat very healthy but you would also help in the office. We run a very busy tour company - organizing holidays.
    The house has a very big garden and is in a beautiful country setting. You will have your own room. You will be able to come with us to Killarney town on many occasions. We are always interested in meeting socially outgoing, enthusiastic and hardworking people. We would like to give you more information during a zoom call

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    your own room in a 4 bedroom house in the country side - 10 minutes drive from Killarney

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On your time off there is walking, fishing, cycling, mountain climbing and beautiful scenery. If you are into photography the Killarney National Park is amazing. Dingle is only 60 minutes away. You will also have a bike to explore the amazing country side like the Gap of Dunloe, the Killarney Nationalpark or some parts of the Ring of Kerry - depending how far you will cycle.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 148874436828

Feedback (5)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)







Help with childminding near Cork city, Ireland
Come and help at my Irish countryside home and garden in Kilmeedy, Ireland