Learn self-reliance in a beautiful and isolated setting in British Columbia

Country

Canada

Favourited 348 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The Xeni Gwet'in First Nation people are my family. I've been living almost 50 years a random life in Nature.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the opportunity to get in contact with the Xeni Gwet'in First Nation people as soon as you arrive since it's an adventure to come to my place. The Xeni Gwet'in First Nation are the first and only ones who won Title for their land in the entire Canada. This is the chance for you to get to know them and their philosophy of care-taking the Land. You will become a caretaker too.

  • Help

    Help

    People will be encouraged to be as creative as they can in all the projects involved here: cooking, building, gathering wood and medecine, gardening, creating spoons and bowls made out of juniper wood.. You will have to learn all kinds of new plants and you can cook them in a creative way on a wood stove. You can also help me build my new project, a small circular log building with vertical log and funky unusual windows.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers sleep in simple and old log cabin, carry water, use outhouse and rustic bath or sweat house. This is a very difficult and isolated lifestyle, requiring volunteers to be physically fit. The wind is quite intense for much of the year. It is also as majestic a place as you ever will see.

    Kayaks are available with access to pristine wilderness, hiking, rowboat, fishing from a kayak, gathering wild roots and hunting or snaring.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Most diets can be accommodated. Absolutely no alcohol, smoking or drugs allowed on site.
    No pets except for camels.
    I am fairly serious as a yoga practitioner and would prefer someone with some kind of practice or open to learning. I have no religious leanings. No English required.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.3)











Host ref number: 438711758842