Help us our family farm near Rockhampton, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 112 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/08/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    83

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family farm. We have 230 acres, horses, cows, pigs, chickens, ducks, geese, goats, sheep, cats and dogs, we are working on establishing a passionfruit orchard and enjoy growing some of our own food. We live in a small community 15-20 minutes from Rockhampton. We have 3 generations of our family living on our farm. We have 3 children (8, 6 and 2) who we homeschool. We are a non smoking and drug free family.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Teaching

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience life on a small family farm. Spend time with 3 generations of family members, our animals, gardens and land. Both the adults and children in our family have many and various interests skills and talents to share and a real interest in learning about yours.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like some English speaking backpackers to stay with us to provide some help with general house hold maintenance (e.g. feeding animals, general daily housework chores, helping with meal preparation) or possibly help with other farm, household and homeschool projects based on your skills and interests and our needs at the time of your stay. No experience required just a willingness to work, learn, listen and provide some very much appreciated help in the mornings leaving your afternoons and weekends to enjoy the farm and explore the local area.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ We have a little caravan for workawayers parked near the main house (with fridge, toaster, microwave, kettle, double bed and couch space - which can be converted to a single bed if needed and access to all other facilities at the house).
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Spaces to park your own van or tent with access to facilities in main house as required.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Full wifi access at main house.

    Meals provided and can be eaten either with us in the main house (or in your accomodation). Cannot cater for vegan or vegetarian diets currently. We eat a lot of whole foods and home cooked meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Rockhampton is a major center in the Central Queensland area with many tourism and cultural experiences to explore with local bus services available as well as an airport, bus and train station.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 438442775189