Help with everyday life in countryside, Välijoki, Savitaipale, Finland

  • Finland
  • Favourited 182 times
  • Last activity: 5 Jun 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    We are a family of two adults and three cats.

    Our house is situated with in tiny little village, but taking a bicycle you can reach a place of your own in nearby forests and also beautiful paddles are near by. Closest public transportation 15 km (Taavetti, Luumäki).

    We like to cook but even more we enjoy you cooking your favorites. Don't worry, finnish food we make every now and then anyway. If you have special diet, it needs to be told us beforehand. Special ingredients only for your diet must be purchased by your self.
    Also sweets, crisps and fruits you buy yourself. Finnish berries are always available either fresh in the bushes or frozen.
    Also beer, wine and soft drinks you consume, is on your own shopping list.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Taking part of our way of living may give you a new perspective for life. We don't need so many fancy things to make us happy, being able to live simply life is more rewarding for us. Being able to maintain our partly sustainable life gives us great satisfaction and this is what we have to offer to workawayer. After hard day of working nothing feels better than sauna and good meal!

    One more thing, we have hosted individuals, friends and couples and we feel people traveling alone are usually more open to new experiences and learning other ways of living. We prefer individual volunteers for this reason. We have hosted several years now and during this time we have learned lots about hosting as well. We have many good memories and friendship with our workawayers :)

    Anna did this spring couple of workaway posts. After experiening ”the other side” of this thing, gave me confidence that we are doing many things right and also we have somethings we can be better as well. Both posts we very good experiences in different ways. I volunteered in France.

  • Help


    Daily routines takes part of every day, preparing sauna, hot water, firewoods, cleaning... Our way of living is simple but requires attention every single day. No (bucket) shower is possible to have before water has been heated and no dishes can not be washed without hot water etc.

    We need also help with berries/mushrooms/wild herbs/firewoods for the long winter ahead. Sometimes it is hard work: heat, mosquitos, rain etc. Sometimes it is possible to take a swimm in nice cool lake near by after swetting.

    Based on our experience, we'd like to remind any new workaway-candidates that unfortunatelly this place is NOT a hotel. E.g you make a dinner - you clean up the kitchen after that and make sure the place is comfortable for next users and things like that. Taking part of daily routines is not included in working hours.

    If you don't understand some house-routines/tasks FEAR NOT to ask.

    If you're tired long time traveller without motivation - kindly pass this place.

    Having mental or fysical disabilities? Read our profile carefully one more time and consder if you can and are willing to send us application. Work is physical, you will get hot and tired sometimes.
    Another issue can be loneliness. Our village is tiny and sometimes you have to spend some days without meeting many people. Can you handle it?

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    Swedish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    Simple room with dry toilet for 2, bed 120cm wide.
    Sauna and bucket shower.
    Summer kitchen with gas stove and refridgerator. Cooler months we all use main kitchen in the house.
    Please note, that summer room is not the warmest place to live during months of April and September. It is heated, but limited possibility to keep very warm.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We drive to local villages when needed, couple of times a week usually. In Savitaipale there is beautiful lake Kuolimo and very nice beach and in the town center there are some sights to be seen and experienced. Closer to us there is a unique swimming place also, worth seeing. In Savitaipale there is a gym, tennis etc. Nearby also yoga once a week.

    This is our sixth season volunteers staying with us and we are looking forward meeting new people, learning new cultures and sharing our knowledge and skills.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We provide basic internet connection but if you need to transfer larger amount of data, please buy an own sim, about 20€/month.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Possibility to park a camper, light electricity ok, not for heating. NOT possible to empty toilet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 436733614291

Feedback (14)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Enjoy the unique Finnish Archipelago and help us maintain our summer cabin island paradise, Lyum, Finland
Help with maintaining, gardening, painting, renovating at Nykarleby, Finland