Help in our farm. Growing and preparing willow, and follow my craft of basketmaking, chairse at weaving, woodwork, Norway



Favourited 653 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Hi from Norway!

    I answer email kinda slow unfortunately. If you dont get a reply within 2 weeks, try again. Sorry for this, but I have trouble with receiving emails on this account. Will fix it soon.

    Im a single woman living on a small island centrally located in the southern part of Norway for more than 12 years. I work on my farm as a willow grower, basketmaker, chairseat weaver, furniture restaurateur and media designer.

    Our willow-field is 6 dekar and consist of approximately 60.000 mother-plants and produce estimated 10-15 tons of ecological willow every year.
    The willow is harvested in november/december and in February/march - if weather condition allows us to do so (not too much snow). After being harvest, the willow is sorted into length and quality.
    For our baskets we use many different natural materials, that we harvest in the forest. You will be a part of the harvest and preparations of this materials. If time is right, you can learn some handicraft, and maybe make some small items of willow.
    My house is a small wooden house with enough space for us all. You will have your own room, but you might have to share with another volunteer. Making food, doing housecleaning and normal everyday stuff we do together.
    You will help me 5 days a week, approximately 5 hours a day, with a long lunchbreak in the middle of the day. We are probably working more hours, depending on our ongoing projects - however you are of course, most welcome to join us in the workshop in the evenings.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Art Projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn how island farming life is. How basketmakers live and work. if you want there are craft and art to be learned.

    I hope you send us a request. But take this in to consideration when you write to us.

    BEFOR -I do get a lot of requests and I try to answer back ASAP. I expect you to do the same. Unfortunately all my email from Workaway webpage does not come to my email. I don't check the mail on this webpage daily. If I dont answer you this is why. I will will try to answer right away.

    RIGTH NOW- have a brake from workaday, but will start to reply ASAP 🙏

    It takes a lot of time to answering e-mails, and I try to put together a group of people. It can be challenging to put together a calendar that works for us all.
    What I would like is for you to give us a defined answer when you want to come, and when you want to leave. And even more important to stick to the plan. If you don’t have a plan, ask us when we are free to host you. Then we can see if the time is right for both of us.

    If we accept your request remember to tell us if you change your plan.

  • Help


    What projects I need help to be carried out, is mostly related to the four seasons:
    looking for persons with this skills

    van builder
    boat restoration
    Mediadesigner- video, photo, graphic

    The next years will be a little different than others. Im a half time student in the university, This means I will trust you to be reasonably independent, as I will not spend so much time in the workshop at I like.

    This winter we will harvest and sort the willow from the middle of januar. If you are up to some fresh Norwegian winter and like to be active we would like to welcome you to our beautiful island.

    I am starting to make short tutorial videos of my basketmaking and other projects. Do you have good experience in filmmaking, photo, video editing, drawing in photoshop etc, graphic design and other skills in that directions, please contact me if you like to help me with this project.

    I will start rebelling a van into a camper this year. If you have skills related to that; like carpentry, electrics, solarpower, cars in general, metalwork etc your skills will be much appreciated. I also have a sailboat, that need much TLC

    Im a professional basketmakers, and my income is from teaching baketclasess and weaving chairs. If you want to attend one of them, you pay the fee or you pay with extra hours of work.
    If you come to us for the basketmaking, it is important that you have done basketry before. Send us some pictures of what you can do. It take about 14 hours to make a basket for a beginner. And a half year, to a year to have good quality products for sale.

    If you do some crafts in the worktime, it means that we have considered you as a good craftsperson. And you will work alongside us as a independent artisan. We exchange knowledge. But you are free to use the workshop, if we trust you to take care of out tools and machines.
    If you have a certain skill in arts and crafts we will be happy to exchange knowledge with you.
    This could be that you can weld, do metalwork, woodwork, blacksmithing, woodturning, draw, paint, sewing, weaving, basketweaving or any other crafts that we didn’t know that we would like to learn.
    We have a workshop for basketmaking, a leather workshop, woodworking hand tools and machines, a smithy and a metal-workshop, a little tannary. We also do plant-dyeing, tablet-weaving, spinning wool, felting etc.

    But we always welcome other people with other skills to, and here are some of our projects.

    JANUARY - FEBRUARY: Sorting the willow is our main tasks in january and harvesting willow if not too much snow.
    Working in the workshop making baskets. If the winter is not too heavy we harvest in the forest.

    MARS: Harvesting and sorting willow. Preparing for spring

    APRIL - may: Sending gods, making willow projects in gardens. Preparing for garden-markets, and giving classes. Preparing natural materials for basketmaking.

    MAY and JUNE we will harvest natural material in the forrest. Peeling willow, and taking care of the garden. If you like outdoor work, and beeing in the natur you are welcome. Taking care of the willow-field. Planting new willow.

    JUNE: Harvesting materials in the forest and lakes.

    JULY: CLOSED see specific above.

    Second half of AUGUST - OCTOBER: Prepare for winter, still enjoying the summer and autumn. Doing all the other stuff we did not manage the rest of the year. Harvesting natural materials. Making tutorial video

    NOVEMBER - DECEMBER: Harvesting natural materials, making small things for christmas markets. Harvest and sorting willow

    To fully learn a little bit of handicrafts and the willow , is best if you stay for at least two or three weeks. It is best for both you and us, if you also know that you enjoy and are capable of doing stuff with your hands.

    We mainly work with our willow, but there are other projects to attend to as:
    - Harvest and sorting willow
    - Harvest and s...
    -Chairseat weaving
    - Preparing waving materials ( splitting thick willow in three pieces, and making it thinner)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    I live in a small house on a small island. You will have your own room with a bunkbed to share with other workaways or WWoofers. Always the same gender in one room!
    In our house lives Silja - basketmakers and willow growers. 45 years. Two cats. There are 4 more people on the island.
    You don’t have to bring anything for sleeping, we have all that.

    I usually cannot accommodate vegans or special diets. Unless you are the chef and take good responsibillity for making and planing the food the period you are here. We are not strict but we do have our habits and liking in the kitchen. If you have food allergy or a disease let us now. And we always make our food from the bottom.

    If you need special food like a lot of fruit for snack, chocolate, soda, another snack you have to buy this yourself. This goes for alcohol and tobacco also. We will have normal food, and try to make what you also like.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are situated between Tønsberg and Sandefjord as the two nearest big cities. We have short way to Torp/Sandejord airport, buss, train and other facilities. If you are interested in viking history this is the place to come, as we live near to Gokstad, Oseberg and Borre mounts. If not this are still places that is worth exploring.
    As we live on an island there is much to see on spot too. Go for a hike, fishing, boat trip, snorkelling, or just enjoy the season of the year. If you have a car, its one hour to the nearest ski senter .

    Hope to see you sooner or later :-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have a ok web connection. But its mobil and have limit on GB pr month. I use it for zoom meatings, streaming videos etc.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    have parkingspace with power connections

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week (max 25 hours/week)

Host ref number: 435678168514