Workaway at our diverse agricultural project with alpacas in Dordogne, France

Country

France

Favourited 398 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    33  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    114

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband is English and I am of french descent born on the island of Mauritius.

    My husband was a geophysicist and myself varied career - teaching English as a Foreigh Language, coffee shop owner in South Africa, hand-made chocolates own business, financial adviser for an insurance company.
    We have both travelled a lot and lived in different countries. We have lived in the UK for the past 24 years and have moved to France 2 years ago. We have bought a large farmhouse and have started the renovations. We are now entering our 4th year and our plans have changed due to the Covid episode and the extreme weather we have had both in winter now summer. We are concentrating on breeding alpacas and transforming their wonderful fibres.

    We receive visitors and also organise walk with the alpacas. We would like to create an environment where guests can have the alpaca experience and also learn to get back into nature and self sufficiency.

    We are continuing planting various unusual fruits and vegetables.

    If you are hard working, interested in alpacas and their fibre - knitting etc you are welcome. We are need helpers for building fences and cutting woods.

    2020 is upon us and we are moving on with work with the alpacas and the biodiversity in our fields and forests.
    We are expecting quite a few crias (baby alpacas) this year and will be doing further planting of trees and work in the forests in order to have further fields and shelters for the animals. The weather has been very challenging the last couple of years and we also need to renovate old buildings. Anyone with renovating experience or who likes to work with wood would be also appreciated.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Way of life in France and also be in a family that has been well travelled.

    In the summer we are open to the public by appointments. Different styles of cooking and we are an easy going family and we were a host family for foreign students whilst living in the UK. Learn with us how to start a small holding and being as self sufficient as possible. Possibilities to experience breeding alpacas and the transformation of the fiber.

    Working five x 5 hour days and having 2 days off. I am also flexible as to working hours as long as we have discussed before.

  • Help

    Help

    We are active on several fronts. These include renovation of the farmhouse, fencing to create extra parks in the forest for the animals, establishing new orchards and vegetable gardens. We also have woodlands which have been abandoned with lots of cutting of woods. Extensive remedial work on neglected trees is also required. The animals also need daily care. Currently we have alpacas, moutons d'ouessant and hens. In summer the alpagas are expecting crias, and in April they are all shorn so it is time for fiber transformation.

    We need helpers who are motivated and can help on their own when required and not worried to get their hands dirty.
    They must be enthusiastic in understanding what we are trying to achieve and see life and the hard work associated with agriculture and keeping animals.

    . We are flexible as long as you are trustworthy and wanting to involve yourself with our knowledge of farming and learn along the way and also help us in daily tasks and projects. Other projects at this time is planting and upkeep of the gardens/orchards. Animal welfare, upkeep of barns and fencing. Also preparing the land for next season planting.



    Please ask me if you require further information as there are other very varied tasks.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation one double bedroom with own separate bathroom. Double bed and two singles. Can accommodate a couple or 2 females.

    Meals are flexible. Having lunches and dinners do not count as working hours.
    We do appreciate help with the meals and clearing up afterwards. We now have two working bicycles to travel around the countryside. There is a train station that you can take to travel around.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in a rural, agricultural situation, about 50kms east of Bordeaux. The town of Montpon-Menesterol, with most amenities, is 5 minutes by car. No bus but trains and taxis. There are several lakes and walking trails nearby. Reasonably close to famous wine regions. Spectacular scenery and medieval towns along the Dordogne river. Canoeing, cycling, local markets.

    Looking for hard working individuals who do not mind getting their hands dirty. We live and work on a farm and work can be messy. You need to bring your gloves and working boots though we have a variety of boots here for those travelling light.

    Birthing season starts in March. We have an alpaca concours in April/easter weekend. Shearing is end of April. Summer is also very busy with tourists also etc.

    Please let me know if you require further information.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day split over 5 days. 5 days work and 2 days off

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.6)

Communication: (4.0)






















Host ref number: 433476875951