Experience life with an interesting and energetic family living in beautiful countryside near Tiverton, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 159 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small mixed rural enterprise consisting of 20 hectares of unimproved grassland, orchards, woodland and a large vegetable garden with polytunnels. It is quietly situated away from main roads in beautiful countryside with dark skies, and particularly attractive to volunteers with a strong interest in their natural surroundings.

    We have a background in forestry, ecology and horses and have a strong interest in environmental issues. We live here with our 24 year old daughter, our 14 year old son and occasional seasonal workers. In the summer months we operate a small campsite to open the farm to visitors.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are an energetic and vibrant family living a simple life in rural Devon and can offer the experience of low impact living with an emphasis on quality of life and sustainability. We have worked in the Environmental sector for years and have travelled extensively, so have lots of stories to share. We are also musicians and have a network of likeminded friends in the area.

  • Help

    Help

    Practical and motivated help needed with gardening, food growing and seasonal tasks such as hay making, harvesting fruit, making wine and preserves, and chopping logs, all of which are for our own use only.

    Supervised help with farm maintenance on our communal work days to add to your skill base., if required. Enthusiasm more important than experience. Also some help with cooking and bread making. We are also looking for help with re building an old farmhouse soon, so anyone with skills in stone walling and construction will be particularly welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a caravan, suitable for an individual person or a couple, which is fully contained with catering facilities and a woodburning stove. In the summer months, volunteers may also be offered sleeping accommodation in a yurt or bell tent and there is a barn offering indoor communal space with wi-fi access. Meals are taken with the family in their home although there is the option to do your own thing (food provided) if you prefer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have been hosting volunteers for over 20 years and have also worked on voluntary projects both here in the UK and abroad, and we are happy to share our beautiful farm with like minded people. We have some lovely walks in the area and horse riding is offered to experienced riders. There is a bus stop and a pub within walking distance, and our nearest town is a 15 minute bus ride away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a separate space with a good wi-fi connection available for volunteers to use.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can accommodate camper vans but larger motorhomes may find the access difficult.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We are happy for other animals to join us here., although they will need to be OK with livestock. Please let us know in advance.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 433464888848