1 / 5

Join us on our off-grid property in a peaceful forest on a hill in Tasmania, Australia

  • Favourited 69 times
  • Last activity: 30 May 2024



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    We are an off-grid, family-run hostel in a peaceful forest on a hill in Tasmania, Australia. We are a friendly large family, and we love welcoming travellers from all backgrounds, religions, and nationalities. We love cooking fresh food from the garden and sharing our table with travellers. We love books, music, travel, history, languages, and meeting people from all over the world.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about off-grid living with solar power, wood-fueled hot water, rainwater, and composting toilets. You will be surrounded by native forests and our amazing wildlife. We are a culturally mixed family with a lot of traveling experience and we love to introduce people to life on our island state.

    We are open about our faith in Jesus Christ. You may ask questions about this while you are here, and we are happy to answer. We are also happy to pray with you. But if you do not want to have spiritual discussions, you are still welcome.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    My husband and I and our young family run our hostel. We need help from workawayers mostly with simple outdoor/gardening jobs like path edging, digging garden beds, mulching, and weeding — and with cleaning and guest care tasks at the hostel. If you have more experience, we would love your help with bigger projects, like blazing trails, building a deck, etc.

    As long as you enjoy working in nature and getting your hands dirty, you will be happy here.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Tok Pisin: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Italian: Beginner
    Chinese (Mandarin): Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Between us as a couple, we speak French (Christina), Spanish (Peirce) and Tok Pisin (Peirce), and Peirce is conversational in German. Peirce is also actively studying Italian and Mandarin and would love your help to learn either language! (In fact, as a language lover, Peirce loves to connect with travellers over whatever language they speak — and he has studied little bits and pieces of many languages, including: Arabic, Japanese, Hebrew, Koine Greek, Korean and Portuguese.)

  • Accommodation


    Hostel-style bunks in a shared room with 5 others. Our hostel rooms are single-sex for safety and privacy. We have comfy sprung mattresses and clean bedding.

    There is a communal kitchen and eating area, and an outdoor picnic shelter with a wood fired pizza oven. You can enjoy these facilities at any time. You are able to use our private laundry facilities. You are welcome to share our table for a healthy, delicious and substantial main meal each day. You will have access to our shared hostel kitchen and veggie garden for other meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are only 30 minutes from the capitol city, Hobart, a quaint and artistic city on the waterfront. We are close to several national parks with lots to see and do. We run a shuttle every day to local bus routes. This is a friendly, safe region, with lots of opportunities for farm work and for exploring wilderness areas.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Your van is welcome here. We aren't able to power campervans, so if your unit needs power, you should bring a generator.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    If your pet is friendly, we're open to hosting him / her. Contact us to discuss details.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 429625569221

Feedback (17)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Come experience rural life in Lorinna, Tasmania
Organic veggie gardening and country living in rural Australia