Off-grid Farm, building, gardening, landscaping near Portalegre, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, my name is Paul.
    I'm living on this beautiful land and started to restore the two houses and grow organic vegetables. I have a little veggie garden to look after, cleaned the terraces, pruned half of the 90 olive-trees, some of the grapevines and hazels, which were not looked after for more than 10 years, when I came here. There are some fruit-trees like citrus, cherry, kaki and apple, a freshwater-spring for drinking water and a little stream down in the valley to enjoy. There are many different types of projects to do, especially extending the veggie-garden, some heavy land-cleaning, care for and cutting of some trees, building and restoring the houses and some dry-walls.
    It is situated close to the city of Portalegre in the beautiful Sao Mamede national park. Portalegre is easily accessible by public transport. There is an apartment, a room and a little yurt for people staying here. The meals are vegetarian, but you can eat meat here, if you want.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I speak English, German and Dutch. I live off-grid and I have hot shower and solar power. There are rooms and a caravan to stay. There is water and electricity available if you come with a camper. I have a washingmachine on solar..
    I traveled a lot and I am interested in different cultures, music, and sustainable building and meeting like-minded people.
    In case you'll arrive with public transport, I'll pick you up in Portalegre.

    Besides working on the land and homeschooling my two daughters, 5 and 8 years old, every other week, I work a few hours online as a coach and psychologist and build yurts and domes once in a while.

  • Help

    Help

    preparing the veggie garden for next season, pruning, restoration of tank and second spring, woodwork, painting, extending watersystem, homeschooling-support, I can use help with many different tasks

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are two basic rooms a small yurt and a caravan to stay. There is water and electricity available if you come with a camper.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    normally good internet here, except for very cloudy days, when it can become slower...

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    water and electricity for campers

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 125129268491